Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
21
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 January 2012
I work in a nursery school where the children love listerning to winnie the witch, and at the moment the children are into the space and constanly going to the moon on their rocket, the only downside to this interest is that there is not a lot of book/stories for children on space. After ordering this book and reading it to them at story time they are now constanly asking to hear it again and again. This book holds the interest of group including the younger children who love to look at the pictures! They love winnie the witch and the nursery holds the entire collection now!
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2010
Well my little boy will probably explode with excitement when he gets this for his 4th birthday in a month's time. He loves Winnie the Witch and he's obsessed with all things space-related so when I saw this I had to get it!

It's vintage Winnie and Wilbur action. Not only are there plenty (more than usual?!) of "Abracadabras" for the little ones to shout along with there's also a countdown from 10 to join in with. The illustrations are the usual joyfully mad Korky Paul standard with lots to look at on every page. There's also a little illustration of each planet in the solar system (with it's astronomical symbol) on each page plus a few other heavenly bodies as well, so the older space-obsessed children can delight in naming those along the way.

So if you've got a Winnie fan at home buy this one, they won't be disappointed. If you've not discovered the delights of Winnie and Wilbur yet but have a mini Space boffin then this would be a great introduction to the series whilst satisfying their astronomical cravings.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2011
Justin who is 12 years old and is autistic loves Winnie books and hopes to add more to his collection.
At School he reads them to the younger children and they love them too as does his brothers and sister.
Gran says they are well illustrated and are a lot of fun for all ages. keep them coming.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
My children have read a few Winnie's books and this was just disappointing. The story lacks of humor and unexpected turns that usually are so much fun in Winnie's adventures. Plus, the only "surprise" element is annoying and the final solution definitely unoriginal. My sons (6 and 8) quickly made this summary for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2011
It's amazing how much time Korky Paul must spend drawing these, but the graphics and detail make many other books at a similar price seem a rip off.
Korky Paul and Axel Scheffler (Gruffalo) are so imaginative, you can see something new every time you open up the book.
It's not the best story of the range (marginally better than the Midnight Dragon), but considering the work that has gone into this, it's excellent value.
I wonder how some artists for kid books get away with their lack of talent, but Winnie the Witch is really superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
Worth it just for the illustrations, the story is great and my 3 year old and 5 year old both adore these books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2011
Very much enjoyed reading this with my granddaugher Rosie who is nearly five. We have read all the previous Winnie books, and this one is just as good. The drawings are special as well as the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
We love Winnie the witch but this is a waste of money to buy for the kindle. I am going on holiday and so I thought it would be a good idea, however, it has turned out to be a waste of money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
My 4yo loves the Winnie books. This one was a hit as he's really interested in space. It also lists the planets and a way of remembering the order.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
this book was to add to my granddaughters collection of winnie books, she loves them and only needs one more to have the collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.