Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 17 November 2002
Comprehensive coverage of all basic French grammar rules. It makes a change to find an adult oriented book which uses illustrations and humour to give examples of what can be such a complex and boring subject for many. Plentiful exercises at various levels of difficulty provide practice on all the basic verb tenses as well as many other essential grammar points. As a tutor, I find it useful with students from beginner to advanced level, and would thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2015
Both this and the German version - 'Alles Klar' are great books for covering all the main grammar points conciselyand thoroughly in an easier way than many forbidding grammar books. Cartoons illustrate relevant points well and light-heartedly.

As a tutor have been using these for many years for all levels of pupils apart from total beginners. Think it's a real shame that they seem to be out of print now, resulting in costing ridiculous prices for used copies - particularly for 'Alles Klar'. Fortunately I have 3 copies of each. Sure it must be worth reprinting these.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2014
This book does seem to give a fairly clear account of French grammar, which is great. It illustrates the grammar points with cartoons that I don't personally like - they are meant to be amusing, which is always tricky, and I don't like the drawing style much, but that's very subjective. On the plus side, it has clearly been written for use by adults, and by people who aren't very familiar with the technical language of grammar, so from my point of view as a teacher of French to adults, that's good. It might have been helpful to include "grammatical" versions of the rules alongside the more intuitive explanations (for example of the agreement of the preceding direct object) for people who were originally taught that way or who were educated in countries where grammar is taught systematically. My other complaint about it is that the explanations are entirely in English. I'm sure it's possible to explain grammar via French, particularly if, as here, technical language is largely avoided. Not doing so maintains the idea that English is the "real" language of communication, which is a mistake in my view.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2018
Purchased for my wife who has enrolled on a course. Very satisfied with the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2015
My daughter uses this book for her French A2... she finds the grammar exercises useful, however there aren't very many of them! Sometimes she'll finish a chapter and still not quite grasp the grammar rule.. Might be better if there were more exercises
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2007
Excellent book to learn french, i've got GCSE level french and have been living in france for 3 months and this book is excellent. The best thing is that you can pick it up anytime and work on the excersies without needing a dictionary or verb book, it has all the definitions in the back and comprehensive verb tables in the back with the most common verbs.

Easy to use and focuses on the useful parts of the french language.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2017
The book arrived quicker than predicted but lacked the answers which it was advertised with
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2017
great, easy and fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2017
Useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2016
Used this at school. Great book to have. Lots and lots of exercises to complete.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse