Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
10
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2010
WHAT TECHNOLOGY WANTS offers a highly readable investigation into the mechanisms by which technology advances over time. The central thesis of the book is that technology grows and evolves in much the same way as an autonomous, living organism.

The book draws many parallels between technical progress and biology, labeling technology as "evolution accelerated." Kelly goes further and argues that neither evolution nor technological advance result from a random drift but instead have an inherent direction that makes some outcomes virtually inevitable. Examples of this inevitability include the eye, which evolved independently at least six times in different branches of the animal kingdom, and numerous instances of technical innovations or scientific discoveries being made almost simultaneously.

Kelly believes that technological progress has a symbiotic relationship with human population growth: technology makes increased population possible, while also relying on it to create both new minds that can be applied to further innovation and new consumers for those innovations. The book suggests that population is likely to peak and perhaps decline as global living standards rise and women choose to have fewer children, and it offers a number of possible scenarios under which it may be possible to decouple future progress from population growth.

One of the most interesting chapters delves into the possible dystopian side of advancing technology. The book quotes at length from Theodore Kaczynski's "Unibomber Manifesto." Kelly is willing to acknowledge the obvious logic of many of Kaczynski's arguments, even as he bemoans the fact that some of the most "astute analyses" of these issues comes from a mentally unbalanced murderer. Kelly rejects Kaczynski's pessimistic belief that technology destroys freedom, arguing instead that technology should make it possible for us to make better decisions.

The book offers a list of ten universal tendencies that give technology direction. Interestingly, one item on this list is "sentience." Kelly believes that some forms of artificial intelligence are inevitable and suggests that AI may be likely to evolve out of the internet.

I found it somewhat surprising that the book does not include more on the broad economic implications of progress. The technologies that Kelly describes -- especially artificial intelligence -- are certain to have a dramatic impact on employment markets, the concentration of income and wealth, and perhaps the overall structure of the economy. For an in depth look at these issues, I would highly recommend this book:

The Lights in the Tunnel: Automation, Accelerating Technology and the Economy of the Future (Also has a Kindle Version).

"What Technology Wants" argues for a broad definition of technology that includes the arts, culture and social institutions. "The Lights in the Tunnel" makes an essentially similar argument that the structure of our economy also needs to be considered technology and will need to evolve as progress continues. Both books offer strong evidence that technology is likely to continue advancing exponentially for the foreseeable future, and both should be read by anyone who wants to gain insight into the likely impact of that incredible degree of progress on society and the economy.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2011
If you like this sort of thing (from the chapter "Ordained Becoming")
"I make the case in this chapter that the course of biological evolution is not a random drift in the cosmos, which is the claim of current text-book orthodoxy. Rather, evolution - and by extension, the technium - has an inherent direction, shaped by the nature of matter and energy."
Then you'll like this book.
If however you find this a bit overblown and begin to get bored by phrases such as
"The technium is the way the universe has engineered its own self-awareness"
or
"...we stand at the fulcrum of the future"
(both quotes from p 357)
then you won't.
Personally I found the book like being forced to listen to the ramblings of a pothead and just wished the author would go and raid the fridge to give me a break.
This is a pity, because Kevin Kelly's thesis is fascinating. Knowledge (what he portentously calls the technium) grows and as it grows it becomes more like life; self organising, self reproducing and co-operative.
This has profound teleological and social implications, which sadly don't really get thought through. Instead, we get a mess of anecdotes from evolutionary biology and sociology to support the idea of the existence of this "technium". There is also a book within the book, a discussion which quotes the unabomber so extensively that one suspects a case of copyright infringement. Lucky for us, and lucky for Kelly, the unabomber is serving 1,000 years in jail so probably can't sue.

You'd think it impossible to write a boring book on such a subject as the "technium". Kelly proves that on the contrary, it's easy. He credits his editor, a certain Paul Tough, with rescuing the book from verbosity. Maybe it was even worse before, so we should be grateful for small mercies. God, mercifully for Him, is absent until the last pages, where he is permitted a small walk-on part by the author.
22 Comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
I like Kevin Kelly's writing when he describes how digital technologies interact with our daily lives but he goes too far with this book in terms of a technologically deterministic view of the digital revolution. The title sums this up - technology does not want anything, it is neutral. If you can see past this then there are some good parts to the book and it is certainly worth a read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
A frustrating read. While Kelly's enthusiasm for the impact of the internet on our lives is undeniable it is also rather simplistic. The title and strapline of the book sum this up. Technology does not want anything - it is not conscious. It is certainly not a "living force" as the subtitle suggests.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2012
Don't be fooled by the cover of the book (which bills the author, Kevin Kelly, simply as cofounder of "Wired") into thinking that it's only about recent digital technology. Inside, there is a refreshingly long view of technology, starting with stone scrapers. I heartily recommend What Technology Wants because I think it's awesome and important. Awesome (in both senses of the word) because it demonstrates an impressive breadth and depth of knowledge and is very thought-provoking. Important because everyone uses technology and is affected by other people's use of it.

Kelly sets the scene by confessing to contradictions in his own relationship with technology. For example, he runs websites but has no TV or smartphone. But he points out that all of us accept some technologies while rejecting others. In order to know how to respond to technology, it's no good starting with specific questions, such as whether we should allow human cloning or cars that park themselves. Rather, we have to look at past trends in technology as a whole and then try to extrapolate from those trends to see where technology is going. He frames this process as figuring out what technology wants.

To ascertain past trends, Kelly examines biological evolution and technological development. The central thesis is that the development of technology mimics the evolution of genetic organisms in that both share several traits, including moving from the simple to the complex, from the general to the specific, and from energy waste to efficiency. Both are seen as information systems with major transitions in the level at which information is organised. Biological organisation started at the level of one replicating molecule and moved through various levels, including RNA, DNA, cells, asexual reproduction, sexual recombination, etc., until reaching language-based societies. Technology started with language and moved through printing, the scientific method, and mass production until reaching ubiquitous global communication. Language bridges the two sequences and unites them into one continuous sequence.

On the biological side, Kelly puts the case for the idea that evolution is not random drift. Rather, it has a direction and is more or less reproducible, and this is because evolution is constrained by the laws of geometry and physics. I found this part convincing (though I don't know whether this view is generally accepted by biologists). The evidence presented here includes the frequency of convergent evolution (the evolution of similar traits, based on the same proteins, in far flung branches of the tree of life) and the results of experiments on cloned bacteria. For me, this was the most fascinating part of the book because it gave me a whole new way of looking at evolution. I'd recommend What Technology Wants for this part alone.

On the technological side, there is again a case for an inevitable direction, again supported by lots of interesting evidence. The evidence here includes simultaneous inventions, Moore's Law and similar laws, and the use of technology by the Amish. Kelly points out that while many people say they disagree with the idea of technological determinism, they don't act that way; all inventors are in a hurry to patent their ideas or get them into distribution before someone else does. Again, I'd recommend What Technology Wants for this part alone.

Unfortunately, I think there's a missing link between the biological and technological. Every time an inevitable direction is perceived in biological evolution, it is asserted that there is an equivalent inevitability in the direction of technological development, due to the continuity between the two. However, the earlier claim that biological evolution and technological development constitute a continuous sequence relies on the assertion that they are bridged by language. But no proof of this is offered. Only two pages are devoted to the origin of language and the discussion is somewhat speculative. In a way, the speculative nature is not surprising. As a former student of linguistics, I know that the scientific study of language evolution only took off in the 1990s, is very difficult due to the paucity of data, and is highly controversial, with many competing theories. But Kelly does not acknowledge that his whole argument rests on one briefly stated perspective among many on the origin of language. Therefore, I treated the comparisons of biological evolution and technological development merely as a metaphor. A powerful metaphor, but no more than that. (That's why I say "technological development", whereas What Technology Wants says "technological evolution".)

Moving on, Kelly continues the trajectory into the future, predicting the general direction of technology in terms of facets such as complexity, specialisation, ubiquity, and structure. I don't agree with some of the predictions here, though it's possible that I just don't want to believe them. As a wise person once said, prediction is very difficult, especially about the future. So I can happily agree to disagree.

If there is an inevitable direction of technology, where does that leave human choice? Kelly claims that understanding the inevitable direction enables us to predict where technology as a whole is going, which enables us to steer the specifics of a given technology. I'm not convinced by this. His answer to any problem with a technology is always another technology. For example, he cites psychological research showing that the more choices people have, the less likely they are to make any choice because they become overwhelmed. Answer? Choice-assist technologies, such as search engines, recommendation systems, tagging, and social media. Yes, but how to choose which of the many choice-assist technologies to use? In any case, we have no choice but to use certain technologies. As Kelly himself points out, even dropouts and the Amish depend on others adopting technology. Nonetheless, What Technology Wants is still interesting up to this point.

However, I was very disappointed with the last chapter. The subject matter suddenly changes to theology and the style changes from meticulous to something veering on the mystic. This is bad form. A conclusion should never come as a surprise. It should bring the work full circle, showing how the objectives set out in the introduction have been met.

So, anyway, I said at the beginning of this review that I heartily recommend this book. That recommendation still stands despite the missing link in the argument and the disappointing last chapter because (1) the argument for a technological direction stands on its own merit, (2) the book works perfectly well without the last chapter, and (3) my overall impression is still that it's awesome and important.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2010
About half way through this book but just couldn't wait to share this review!

what technology wants is the Guns, Germs and Steel: A short history of everybody for the last 13,000 years for technology.

Packed full of amazing facts and theories in a very readable format, if you're interested in how technology evolves, how it effects our lives and where it is going this book is a must.

The endorsements on the back cover speak for themselves Seth Godin, Doug Coupland And Brian Eno all rate this book as a "Unputdownable", " a book for the ages" and "landmark in modern thinking" respectively.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
I bought this book after seeing it at a party in Aalborg to celebrate Mexican Independence, but I digress.

Written by an individual deep into technology but still managing to keep it at arms length it is an interesting
book for anyone interested in technology on lots of levels.

Still reading it so this is more of a view in process. Like what I have read so far :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2011
This is the first book I have read by this celebrated author and it has lived up to the hype. Kelly's hypothesis in the book is very simple: what technology wants is that we keep building new ways of using technology to benefit us, which in turn will drive us to develop even more new technologies.

Although the title, quite eerily, gives technology a life-like form, it is not what Kelly professes. Instead what he means is that when compared to biological systems, technological advancements are somewhat predictable, even though we are unsure of how those advancements would affect us. Comparing technological development with Darwinan evolution, Kelly says that just like the eye evolved in genetically distinct species, technologies arise independently and often simultaneously. In simple words, we would have had the light bulb with or without Edison and we would have the airplane with or without the Wright brothers.

But in building his thesis, Kelly makes sure that he does not just view the world from a technophile's perspective and gives it a balance by talking about lessons we can learn from the Amish, a group of people who refuse to adopt any modern technologies.

The narrative Kelly constructs is a powerful one. He draws on examples from all the periods of human history and makes neat comparisons with nature to convince the reader that what technology wants is to keep moving forward.

I would recommend this book to anyone who is curious, loves technology or wonders what the world will be in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
The product is great but after purchasing the kindle version I could not get page numbers and therefore had to buy a paper copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
great, no problems
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)