Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 11 December 2014
Great!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2017
As expected thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2012
This volume of six shorter novels of the author is an ideal introduction to Steinbeck. A little over 600 pages, each story is between 100 and 150 pages. Not all are as well-known as 'Of Mice and Men' and 'Cannery Row', but each one is a gem. If you enjoy these stories you will want to read 'Sweet Thursday' (a sequel to 'Cannery Row'), 'The Pastures of Heaven' and 'The Long Valley' (both short story collections).
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2017
The book itself is fine, but the way they've given the pages a strange jagged edge is horrible. It's meant to be stylish and authentic, but it just looks and feels wrong. What's odd is that the top and bottom edges are nice, normal and straight. Anyway, I'm sure I'll enjoy reading the book, but just don't like the edges to the paper.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2009
This excellent compilation contains the principal early short stories of this excellent American author. They are all more that half a century old but retain a disticnt period charm and narrative clarity. In these stories Steinback was writing about people and places he knew and loved and this affection shines through each page. Some like Of Mice and Men and Cannery Row are very well known and have become a revered part of English course work at University level. A personal favourite is The Red Pony which is more a novella with interlocking themes than a short story. But all could be read with benefit and pleasure.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2016
The page cutting was extremely poor, with very jagged edges. This was supposed to be a Penguin deluxe edition it was £25.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2016
Bought as a present for my dad and he's well chuffed with it. Arrived promptly and in pristine condition. The text is in a clear print.

My only quibble would be with the odd frayed effect on the edge of the pages. Both me and my father think it just looks a bit messy. However, only a minor detail (and not one Amazon can do.anything about).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2013
I bought this for my bruv's 50th birthday who, like me loves Steinbeck. At first I thought that the pages had been badly guillotined but soon realised that this edition was made to look as though it were hand bound. A great gift -he was delighted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2013
Great opportunity to have all his novels in one place. Lovely quality book and not too thick! Would make a fabulous gift. My partner purloined this as soon as I got through the last page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2013
Excellent value for money and contains what can only be described as some fantastic short novels and a brilliant introduction to John Steinbeck.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse