Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
40
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2014
A chance quotation in a book nudged me to look again at Eliot's poetry, which I haven't read for decades. This "slim volume" is a perfect re-acquaintance, without being too daunting. I remembered how I loved the poetry, and am finding new meaning this time around. Maybe I'll move on to more of it. Thank you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
The Waste Land is an incredible poem, almost cinematic in its tone and breadth, longer than some short stories, more intelligent than most books. It doesn't pay to try and describe something that is already so absorbed into the English language. Suffice it to say, I think it is an essential poem, an historical tract in its own right (it captures that post-Great War ambivalence of gratitude for surviving, but being presented with a far from golden future). The kindle edition includes Prufrock and many other famous Eliot poems. Well worth buying for The Waste Land alone, if you don't already own it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
This is an alright copy of 'The Waste Land' and gives a small amount of explanatory notes (if they can be called that) but the amount of typos is unacceptable and as a student of English Literature, there were nowhere near enough explanatory notes or even anything to point out the rich variety of other texts that have been inserted into or influenced this poem... If you simply want to acquaint yourself with the bare basics of this quintessential poem then I'm sure that this (extremely thin) book (or perhaps even pamphlet?) would be fine for you but if you want a really in-depth, intricate analysis and explanatory notes (and boy, you'll need them...), then I definitely wouldn't recommend this to you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
This is a completely unsatisfactory version of this important poem. For a new reader the layout is impossible, lines seem to merge into each other, no paragraphs between the individual sections. Do not buy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
Poem is fine, and this copy is good for annotation (note: it is not a full book, just a tiny paper booklet of this poem, which is good for writing on) but it is full of typos and mistakes! Only on the first poem and have found 'the' spelt 'tbe' and 'frere' spelt 'frère'. Might seem petty but really, typos like this are unacceptable for a published book, there has clearly been no proof reading whatsoever, as these are not small mistakes, and so very cheeky to charge £6 for one poem that is clearly a rushed print out! Do yourself a favour and just print the poem from the internet instead.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2001
This selection is okay -- but you hardly need a selected Eliot as his Collected Poems is not much longer, and is only a few pounds more. That's the one I'd go for.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
Such an awful edition!
The lines are all jumbled up and you will find line numbers right in the middle of line to prove how badly formatting it is. One line was half poem and half editors note without any distinction, which was very confusing. Form is so important in poetry, especially if you are getting this edition for educational purposes where you will be expected to look at particular lines. But in any case you would expect the edition to at least get the structure of the text right!

The book itself is more of a pamphlet with no editor's name so I'm assuming this was made by simply copying and pasting another edition without even going over to check the format.

Save your money and do not buy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
I've read (and listened to) this collection of poems half a dozen times. THE WASTE LAND is, without a doubt, still my favourite. It's hard to understand, pompous at times and so dense with allusions to other works I lose track of what's Eliot's work and what isn't. And yet ... on some atavistic level this poem still "talks" to me. The rhythm, the magic, the sheer (dare I say it) poetry in the lines (April is the cruellest month, breeding lilacs out of the dead land) draws a reader in and shakes up emotions I didn't even know I had.

The tension between the physical and the metaphysical is tremendous; Eliot clearly had a deep experience of how earthbound and limited we are by the very denseness of our bodies (...the last fingers of leaf Clutch and sink into the wet bank), while the voice of our souls rush by unheard (The wind Crosses the brown land unheard). THE WASTE LAND is a mournful cry of a man trapped in a world of harsh reality (it was written only four years afer the devastation of Europe in World War 1), sensing there is something more (Madame Sosostris), yet unable to feel or perhaps believe in it (... this card, which is blank,...,which I am forbidden to see). Here, in this poem, is the struggle between the intellect and the emotions (fear death by water - in the Tarot the water cards represent emotion), good and evil and man's lower, sexual nature and his higher, Divine nature.

What a brilliant, depressing, strong poem it is!

So strong, it almost overshadows the other poems in this collection. But ASH WEDNESDAY, with its tone of sorrow and penitance already obvious from the title, is another powerful poem, as is JOURNEY OF THE MAGI and the remainder of the poems.

In its struggle between hope and despair, this collection is as relevant today as it was in Eliot's time and is worth the effort it takes to try and grasp its elusive meaning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Waste Land T S Eliot’s well known poem has certainly become something of a bugbear amongst a large number of the population, but really it shouldn’t be. Admittedly it is written in more than English and it does have multiple narrators, but don’t let yourself think that you will never understand or appreciate this. It most certainly is not the easiest poem to read, but then again perhaps that gives this something that you don’t often find, something that draws you back and makes you re-read and think again. More than a poem this is also in some ways a narrative.

Building upon the Arthurian legends and the Classics, as well as religion in this piece of modernism that isn’t particularly long, Eliot created a very modern epic for his generation, and how he saw the world progressing, with a mix of satire and prophecy. Obscure in some places and something that always needs more than one reading this is a poem that is something to really get your teeth into. On the first reading you do get the whole feel, but if you come back to this on other occasions you suddenly realise that there is something that you missed or never made much of before, that definitely leads to more pondering.

Edited by Eliot himself and Ezra Pound this is the final poem that amazingly was reduced to so few lines. This edition does include all those notes that Eliot himself made to go with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
This was a required text for my university course. The text itself is wonderful, and I would recommend it to anyone, however this particular edition is not particularly nice. In places the line numbers and notes got in the way of the text of the poem.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.