Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 20 September 2017
Maybe I remember the story differently but this has to be one of the worst adaptations of a classic story ever. I was so excited to find an non-Anglo adaptation of a classic story. However the story is written in a way that is very dull and the English grammar is atrocious. It literally reads as if somebody plugged the words into Google translate and then published. Plus the whole idea of a woman going through pain and agony so that she can marry the perfect man isn't a message I want to pass along to my child. However on reflection the classic stories I grew up reading were not exactly progressive or positive in their message ( go back and read the following through grown-up eyes; ugly duckling, Rapunzel, sleeping beauty, Goldilocks and the three bears). If my toddler had at least been engaged and interested in the story or pictures we would have kept it however he wasn't and so it went straight into the charity bag (though I should've just put in the recycling bin).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
The age on this is 3 - 5. I'm only saying this because I didn't see this information on the page, only on the book when it arrived. They may change this now. Nice book with good illustration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
Excellent book. My God daughter loves it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2017
Not worth it tbh. I was expecting more content but its been adapted from an English story etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Quick delivery, lovely book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2017
Beautiful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
Very artistic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
Gorgeous illustrations, the story is simply and poetically told, and it's lovely to expose my son to a 'princess' story that veers away from the usual European blonde princess stereotype.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2011
Rachel Isadora's reworking of classic European fairy tales are worth purchasing for the artwork alone.

Not a great deal is added to the story, other than it being set in Africa, and the writing is little and to the point, suitable for pre-school onwards, but the gorgeous illustrations and beautiful portrayal of African people, colour and vibrance is a pleasure to behold.

Great for children of African heritage (and I mean by that the wider African diaspora) and everyone else too.
Where so much of childrens culture is dominated by Eurocentric/western images and thought, it's great to have a twist on things and give Afrikan children a chance to see themselves and african culture given focus and perspective at last.

I am also happy to see characters portrayed with their hair in locks too, as my child has, and many of rachel Isadora's books do so.

Really, a great book for all young children and parents tired of the same old images and stories being trotted out.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Soooo beautiful. Wonderful to find princesses with afrohair. Thank you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

I Love My Hair!
£4.99
Big Hair, Don't Care
£8.22
So Much!
£6.99
Rapunzel
£12.88

Need customer service? Click here