Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
60
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 December 2012
A lover of the film, I could not resist getting the Abinger Edition of Maurice - Forster's epilogue is in this edition - a peek into the world of the runaway lovers Maurice and Alec. A moving and romantic book for those romantics out there!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2004
This book is a wonderful piece of literary romance; engaging, moving, and a simple pleasure to read.
Although, because of its theme of homosexuality and issues of social class, Maurice cannot help but have political undertones, it is essentially a tale of the way in which love can triumph over the predudices of mainstream society.
Integral to the whole story is the happy ending, as Forser explains in the Terminal note at the end of the book; this is because the love between Maurice and Alec the Gamekeeper must survive their struggles, and show that homosexuality can be a positive, fulfilling and legitimate way of life, and that love can transcend class barriers.
Maurice is appropriate for most age-groups, from adolescence onwards, and I highly recommend it to anyone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2004
Maurice is a wonderful book. It is much more than simply a depiction of the struggle of a gay man early in the twentieth century to overcome his peer's notions of propriety and conformity; not to mention the law. It describes in vivid detail the power and pain of love as felt by us all, with elaborate but never unnecessarily wordy passages (unlike this review!) giving the reader an insight into the affects almost imperceptable changes in one person's behaviour can have on another's feelings.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2017
Beautifully and compelling written. Convincing characters and a generally heart warning book - this should be just as celebrated as some of forster's more well known novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
beautiful book and heart breaking in places! a must read! check out the movie also! outstanding!

5 stars definitely going to check out more books by Forster
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
Spent most of this book feeling sorry for main character but was happy for him in the end. Well written and was a pleasure to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
A autobiographic novel. The narration seems to be plain but actually it is emotionally evoking. Conflicts are also well disclosed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
I enjoyed the book and the different levels that it operates on but I think it works best when simply enjoyed for what it is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2000
The story of a young gentleman of the early 20th century England, who has to come to terms with his sexuality in a time where "gay" meant happy, and just that, and one could be sent to prison for such an unspeakable vice as homosexuality. Society has given Maurice a comfortable lifestyle and a place at the top of the rigid British class structure, yet this same society denies him his right to love. Still unaware of his nature, young Maurice is in his first year of University, Clive comes along and awakens deeply buried feelings in him, he finds love, not with a woman but with a gentleman as himself. This hapiness wil not last, and as Clive turns away from him, to live a proper heterosexual life, Maurice has to face loneliness and self denial as he tries to get rid of his homosexual feelings. In midst of all the despair, love comes from where he least expected it. This is without doubt one of the most touching books I have ever read, we feel for Maurice when we read it, we grieve for him and finally rejoice when he finds everlasting love. This book is not about society's prejudice against homosexuality. It is much more about the urge we feel to love and feel loved in a hostile world. I fell in love with Maurice, I fell in love with this book, and you will too.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2016
This is a masterpiece. Lovely writing. Great characters. I would also recommend watching the film Maurice (1987)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse