Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Nineteen Eighty-Four (Penguin Modern Classics)
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£5.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 31 December 2017
I have given this novel 5 stars. As this is what it fully deserves. This rating is entirely my own opinion and i have not been coerced or forced under duress to provide such a high rating...8a8;io4*###@;...Big Brother is Watching You!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2017
The intensity and thrill that you feel when reading this book is indescribable. George Orwell seems to have live more than just one life because he depicts how past and current governments act upon and what the ultimate goal of a true born political leader might be like. This is a recommended read not only for those interested in what would happen if but also in what would happen if we let it happen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2016
Required reading, excellent, 2+2=5
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2016
What can i say... this is one of my favorite books of all time... on point and often chilling to the core. A must read for everyone!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2017
It is a good book that everyone should read and so I bought this for my daughter. The good was in excellent condition on arrival.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2017
People should be reading this book NOW!

The concepts written in this book are relevant today and should be considered when thinking about the way the media presents facts. Orwell was a master at dissecting the human condition.

The format is very good. The case and pockets for the CDs are easy to navigate. The CDs are quite long, longer than usual. The case is actually very easy to get in to. Unusual in CD case lore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2016
I first read this book in the 60s. It is very interesting to see how relevant it is with the advances in technology today.The totalitarian and fascist societies in the world are just as evil, controlling and manipulative as the one portrayed in the book. This can be applied to any regime.Thought provoking and scary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2016
Recently recorded the film and then thought "hey, I haven't read it!" so did before watching. It's a classic for obvious reasons, way ahead of its time and mysterious enough to hold attention to the very end. Glad I finally caught up with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2017
Can't. Relieved this book was written so long ago and be so acurate about countries in the modern day
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2015
I first read this many years ago, bought a fresh copy to update my collection. I cannot add much to what has already been written about this. It never disappears from focus and its themes are always considered to be where we are heading or where we have already reached give or take a few tweaks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here