Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2016
Martin Middlebrow has a great way of describing the often quite complex array of events that occurred during this war He does it in a style that is extremely readable and engaging Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2001
I was eleven in 1982, so whilst I remember the names of "Goose Green" "Exocet" and "General Belgrano", my knowledge of the events of the Falklands war was rather patchy. This account gives full information and personal accounts from both Islanders and Soldiers who lived through the campaign. It is largely free from political accounts, which is good, as the build-up and final battles are not hindered by events happening in Whitehall and Buenos Aires, and so is allowed to develop into a ripping narrative. One criticism I do have, is of Middlebrook's reluctance to criticise the British military for some of the glaring mistakes that were made, namely in the sinking of the Sheffield (this will have to be revised in light of the recent BBC programme), and the Sir Galahad. But all-in-all this is a very good book.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2001
Martin Middlebrook's The Falklands War provides a well researched account of the 3rd Commando Brigade battalions in the Falklands. The book includes a series of short pieces in which former members of the British brigade, from officer to private soldier, present fascinating accounts of their personal experiences. Nick van der Bijl's Nine Battles To Stanley continues the story. Bijl, a spanish-speaking officer attached to 3rd Commando Brigade Headquarters for the campaign, tells for the first time the land battles of the Falklands, as seen through the eyes of both sides. The platoons of Second Lieutenant Diego Aristegui and First Lieutenant Victor Rodriguez-Perez, which carried out the only two nocturnal counterattacks during the Wireless Ridge battle were a typical well-knit group. During the Two Sisters Ridge battle the 4th Regiment platoon of Second Lieutenant Marcelo Llambias-Pravaz blocked 45 Commando's progress for three hours before caving in. Indeed, there is overwhelming evidence that without the British Paras and Royal Marine Commandos, the fierce battles in Port Stanley's outskirts may not have been won or at least with massive casualties.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
As a veteran of this war I have naturally read a few historic accounts of the Falklands war, but none has gripped me more than this account. The author has written this in such a way that you just want to keep on turning the pages, for the next attack\battle\event. A lot of facts, figures and dates that gives the reader the whole picture in a simplified way. Well worth a read!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2001
I read this book some years ago in when it was called Task Force. Since then I've read around a dozen books on the Falklands War and this is still the best in my opinion.
Required reading for anyone with an interest in this area.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2007
As an Anglo-Argentine, I am always keen to understand why two staunch historical allies can be so at odds over two small islands. This book is probably the most balanced, educational and compelling read on this subject matter bar meeting with actual former soldiers from both sides. A must-read for anyone interested in or researching this war.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2010
En tant que français, j'avais conservé de la guerre des Malouines le souvenir d'une expédition britannique facilement couronnée de succès malgré l'aviation argentine et ses missiles Exocet. Ce livre détaille avec précision les combats-vus du côté britannique- avec une grande précision et donc une bonne impartialité: les combats furent âpres, et parfois incertains. Les mémoires de Margaret Thatcher montrent que l'armée britannique put s'appuyer sur sa détermination politique farouche.
Un livre excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
As something of an addict on all things relating to the Falklands War of 1982, I have read and re-read this book a number of times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)