Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 10 November 2016
Love this item. Good quality, well packaged and arrived promptly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
We love all these books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Brilliant. Our granddaughters absolutely love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
Great reading for little ones
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2015
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Children and adults love this book. It is rhyming, which is a benefit for base line assessment - and great fun to read to pre-school children. The cat has loads of character, and there is a moral out there for all adults to pass on to their children! You should definitely buy this wonderful book.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
It is a lovely story but the listing is quite misleading regarding its size. I purchased this along with two others as a gift for my niece but the books are so small that I think I shall have to get something else, not really much of a gift. Just be warned that they are very small, a little too small for the age of child they are intended for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 December 2003
Animals being naughty and making a mess - the perfect combination for most small children. My daughter has loved Slinky Malinki (and the Hairy Maclary books) since she was about 3, and still enjoys them at 6. It's true that in some of these books there is vocabulary which is challenging for pre-schoolers, but that doesn't seem to matter when the story is this entertaining and amusing.
I would recommend reading one of the Hairy Maclary books first if you haven't already, so you can appreciate his guest appearance on the last page!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
Brilliant book, loved by my grandchildren.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2005
This is the best book for preschoolers in my opinion (if that counts for anything)and generally is overlooked behind both Maclary books and other in authors such as Jill Murphy and the Ahlbergs etc.

A common complaint is that childrens books either aren't challenging enough, aren't funny enough etc etc but that is because they are not designed to educate, stimulate, amuse or engage childrens parents quite simply. Kids like them, they work even if not apparant and if an average adult actually tried to sit down and emulate that themselves they'd on average find it more difficult than a lengthy eloquent piece fit for an amazon review.

So why do I say it's good. Ok, you've got association- animals as comparable to mischevious children causing commotion and havoc around the house. You've got repetition, the foundation for learning to read and expand vocabulary through familiarisation. You've got a rhyming book - language development again. Children begin to remember the story and fill in the gaps - they can use these as beginner readers. don't be tempted into buying the Maclary dvd though, it's really awful.

This book went down best out of all the Hairy/Slinky books and would work for 18ms to 5 years.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse