Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2015
Absolutely superb book and one that can be read by children and adults alike. Having watched the movie with Dustin Hoffman and Judie Dench and thoroughly enjoyed it was keen to read this. This is probably one of the only books I have come across so far of Roald Dahl's with a romantic element to it. I kept wondering what Mrs Silver what have done if she had known the truth of how her tortoise Alfie had increased in size ! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Brilliant. I can't wait to start reading. I would definitely recommend this seller and item.😁😁😁😁😁
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Really pleased arrived super quick in plenty of time for a birthday gift thank you .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
See photos
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2000
The best book that I had ever read was called ESIO TROT by Roald Dahl. It had a lot of humour in it and a bit of romance. I read this book in my school library. This book is about an old man who seems to like Mrs Silver but just cannot say how he feels about her. But eventually he gets married to her due to a little bit of help from a tortoise and a bit of sneakiness. You should read this book because it will put a smile on your face and laughter in your life!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 February 2006
This takes no time at all to read
You're done in half an hour
It shows how far a man will go
to prove he has some power
To win the love of Mrs. S.
He pulls a clever ruse
If he can make her tortoise grow
He knows she won't refuse
Tortoises with matching shells
He plays his clever game
It takes an awful lot of work
To win his dizzy dame
ESIO TROT (spelled backwards please)
Gets larger as he'd said
And when he even shrinks it down
He gets inside her head
The moral of this leery tale's
"All's fair in love and war"
If you really want your lady's heart
Then it's worth cheating for
ADNAMA SDRAHCIR
11 Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2005
I think this is an excellent story because I read it in two nights as it is short, but it has a good beginning and a good end. Another good story from Roald Dahl !
Reviewed by my 7 year old Daughter Rosalynn
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2012
I enjoyed this book.6-10 year old's would enjoy this book the most.My favorite character was Mr Hoppy because he was very clever tricking Mrs Silver by putting a different tortoise and pretending it was the same one and in the end Mr Hoppy got what he wanted. By Adam aged 8.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2017
IT IS A GREAT BOOK AND I WOULD LIKE TO READ THIS BOOK AGAIN.
CHRISTMAS TREE OF THE TREE IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR THE FIRST TIME SINCE I'VE BEEN USING THE RING OF PICKING UP THE RING OF PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP
PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING A NEW YORK TIMES AND I AM NOT SURE IF I AM NOT SURE IF I AM NOT SURE IF I AM UP PICKING UP PICKING PICKING UP PICKING UP PICKING
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2008
Plot: Mr. Hoppy lived in a flat. So did Mrs. Silver - the love of his life. Mr. Hoppy wanted to marry Mrs. Silver but he was too nervous. Find out how one small tortoise brings them together...

Fact: As well as being an author, Roald Dahl was an inventor - he actually invented the tortoise-catcher in the story but he used it to pick up things because he had back pains. Plus, Roald Dahl had two children and when they were small, they kept one or two tortoises in the garden!

Rating and recommendation: I would rate this brilliant book 7/ 10; I would recommend this perfect paperback to all Roald Dahl fans.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse