Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
75
Artemis Fowl and the Lost Colony
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 31 December 2017
I've been a huge fan of Eoin Colfer and the Artemis Fowl books for many years. I originally came across them by chance as I loved the cover design, and then was hooked on the story. The Lost Colony is just as magical as the books I read years ago, though I'm not as keen on the new cover design, and I don't think I would have picked up the book in the first place if it had this cover on when I first found it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2017
A witty and accessible series, beautifully read by Adrian Dunbar - such a pity the series seems no longer available; I had to buy a second-hand copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2017
My son loves these books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2017
I want a Butler! Very clever, little Artemis is becoming quite compulsive reading, what a wonderful approach to puberty - Enjoyed it very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2017
But this is my favourite book in the entire series so many good moments one that still hurts to read to this day not spoiling anything for people that haven't read it yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 September 2006
This is the fifth installment of the Artemis Fowl series, with reportedly just one more to go. Most of the surviving characters are back, including of course Artemis, the teenaged criminal genius and Butler his bodyguard, as well as Holly, the former female LEPrecon official, Foley the Centaur and Mulch the amazing digging dwarf, but this time there are also new and exciting characters. There's Minerva Paradizo, a twelve year old French child genius who can give Artemis' brain cells a challenge, Doodah Day, a thief who's the Michael Schumacher of the Pixie world, Imp No. 1 the non-warping demon, and the megalomaniac Leon Abbot, but that's not all folks.

Way back when humans and fairies were fighting over the island of Ireland, the eighth fairy family, the Demons, refused to go live underground with the others, instead choosing to take their island home of Hybras into another time dimension until they were ready once again to attack the humans. Unfortunately, something went wrong with the transfer, and the whole island, demons and all ended up in Limbo. However, even time spells don't last forever, and as it unravels, demons begin appearing in the present, and even Foley can't work out exactly where the next one will pop up.

As you may have guessed, Artemis has already figured it out, and starts staking out the sites where demons are due to appear, but is thrown for a loop when he realizes that someone else has done the math, and that the demon he's been stalking has been demon-napped under his very nose. To make it worse, his new rival is a girl, albeit a very pretty one.

Book five has all the elements for an exciting read, including time travel, volcanoes, mercenaries, magical creatures (including a Yoda-like Warlock), and weapons - lots of weapons. There's also the code that runs along the bottom of each page, and I can tell you that it has to do with scrolls, demons and the slapping of rude body parts, but the rest is up to you to find out.

Another great addition to the Artemis Fowl series from Eoin Colfer, certified genius.

Amanda Richards
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2017
Once again a great escape from reality into the crazy world of The People. This time Artemis has to deal with the demon island of Hybras falling out of time and rematerialising in the middle of the ocean. Not as funny as the previous books but I loved the addition of Number One and the warlocks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2006
I saw this book splashed all over a table in a local bookstore and had to buy it - I didn't bother looking at the sleeve notes as any Artemis Fowl story is loaded with action from humans and fairies alike. Another rollercoaster ride for the Irish genius - dealing with another child prodigy, a new race of the people and battling with puberty. Has Artie met his match? Eoin Colfer does it again - and as an adult who finds it difficult to understand grown up books it gives me a chance to be whisked away into a new reality, like "the Discworld" or "the Edge". The plot twists and turns as Artemis thinks on his feet to avoid another disaster - with the aid of Butler, Holly and Mulch along with some new characters.

Keep up the good work Eoin
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2007
I loved it, just as I loved the other three books in this series. It's fun for children and adults: great story, funny and with "lessons" for the kids...

Artemis had come a long way from the money-obsessed teen kid with questionable morals we met in the first book: he's getting a bit of sunshine, making friends, alsosome enemies, but hey, nobody's perfect :-)

Next to Holly and Artemis we have a new main character, Number One, who I found really great: his comments were very funny at times, the characters is well develloped and will speak to kids who don't fit in well with the "in croud" or, maybe if they are part of the in-croud, make them understand kids who aren't...

Can't wait for a the next book to come out ! With the ending this book has, the next one should be fun !!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse