Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
61
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 4 August 2008
Those who have been faithfully following this series will know that this is book six of the adventures of the teenaged criminal mastermind, Artemis Fowl II.

Picking up at Fowl Manor, we learn that three years have passed while Artemis was otherwise occupied, and that he now has two brothers, twins named Beckett and Myles. This book goes in a different direction to the previous plot, making no mention of some of the characters introduced in The Lost Colony. There are references to certain events, but other than the main characters, most of the story is new material.

As the title implies, an older and more mature Artemis Fowl enlists the help of his friend Captain Holly Short, dwarf Mulch Diggums and the imp warlock No.1 to journey to the past to correct a mistake he made earlier in his eventful life. His mother has contracted a rare disease that can only be cured by an extract from the brain of an extinct lemur, and ironically, the extinction was hastened by young Fowl himself.

The time trip gets very complicated when Artemis matches wits with his younger self, and rescuing the lemur from Dr. Damon Kronski, leader of the Extinctionists cult, proves to be much easier planned than achieved. To make it more complicated, there's now a fledgling romantic situation in play, and the return of an enemy from the past who also wants possession of the lemur.

Artemis isn't as devious and diabolical as in earlier books, but to his credit, the kid is growing up and has other things on his mind. This book is action-packed with the usual gadgetry and humor, but as is the case with time paradoxes, it is sometimes hard to keep things straight. The plot also has several twists, obviously getting even twistier in the final chapters. The story ends with an obvious hint for another book.

And "What about the Kraken?" you may ask. Well, that part of the story is explosive, to say the least.

Amanda Richards
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2008
this book was just as good as any of the previous editions. As the reader you get a sense of Artemis becoming a better person and it is a fabulous read, i strongly advise purshasing this book its well worth it!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2009
I am a big fan of this series, and have read and re-read each installment with glee. This is not my favourite of the series and I have re-read it less often. However, it is still a fantastic and enjoyable book that I would heartily recommend!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As an ardent fan of Artemis Fowl from the first book onward, I was more than just a little excited to find out that THE TIME PARADOX was in the works. The previous book in the series, THE LOST COLONY, was one of my favorites, and it opened so many doors that I wanted desperately to see explored. After reading THE TIME PARADOX over the course of a single day, my reactions are mixed, but one thing's for sure: with Artemis Fowl in the mix, there's never a dull moment.

The storyline opens only a short while after the end of the previous book. Fourteen-year-old genius Artemis Fowl has been out of his home time for nearly three years as the result of the events of THE LOST COLONY, and the world has changed around him. But the presence of younger twin brothers at Fowl Manor is not nearly as surprising as the fact that Artemis has managed to retain some of the fairy magic that he stole while in the time tunnel, making himself part magical in turn. Early on in the story, the readers find out that Artemis has used this small magic to mesmerize his parents into forgetting all about his three-year disappearance, and is learning how to control it for specific purposes.

So when Artemis's mother develops symptoms of several deadly illnesses overnight, Artemis's first instinct is to use his fairy magic to save her. When that fails, draining all of the magic out of Artemis, his first call is to Holly Short, reinstated Captain in the Lower Elements Police. Holly arrives and diagnoses Artemis's mother with a rare disease known as spelltropy, usually passed between magic users by the use of power. The only cure is the brain fluid of a silky sifaka lemur--a species that became extinct nearly eight years ago, thanks to the work of a younger Artemis Fowl desperate for money to fuel the search for his then-missing father.

Artemis is convinced there's a simple solution to this problem: go back in time using the magic of demon warlock No. 1 and steal the lemur from his younger self before returning to his own time. Of course, with Artemis involved, nothing could ever really be that simple. Nonetheless, he and Holly both make the journey almost eight years back in time to outsmart the ten-year-old Artemis and a group of Extinctionists bent upon getting their hands on the lemur--not to mention a mysterious third player who may be manipulating everyone from behind the scenes.

The storytelling is vivid, the jokes are always funny, the puns are horrendous in the best of ways. The repartee between Artemis and Holly gets better in every book. But for whatever reason, I didn't enjoy this Fowl adventure as much as I did previous ones. It seemed somehow like there was less at stake. It was an interesting ploy, since the "villain" Artemis faces off against for the first half of the story is himself, but a lot of the major weight of the story felt psychological.

Of course, there were the requisite explosions and high-speed cross-country chases, but the focus of this book seemed to be more upon the minds of the characters involved, particularly Artemis and Holly, and their relationships to their own pasts. That's not to say the book wasn't good--it just had a different kind of depth from the others, one that I probably couldn't fully appreciate on a first reading. Some of the doors opened in THE LOST COLONY were closed rather suddenly, in my opinion, or led down passageways I hadn't thought they would explore, so that the main developments of this book were not what I thought they would be at all. But then, what would be the fun of a predictable book?

If Colfer is one thing consistently as a writer, it's unpredictable, and this book is no exception.

Reviewed by: Candace Cunard
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2008
Page turning, pleasurable and just about smashing all round. I have read all the Arty books and this one does not fail to disappoint. Unlike many others I found The Lost Colony a bit of a let down but having Artemis afce himself in this somewhat psychological teen book works very well. Of course Holly and Foaly provide many a dash here, dash there type adventure.
The best thing about thses books is the way Colfer dosn't shy away form big words, or twists in the plot. All in all a very satisfying read.
Eoin colfer has a great imagnation and has created a really enjoyable series of books.
Perfect for teens and adults alike in my mind.
If you liked this you should also try
The Spook's Apprentice: No.1
The Elements of Lore - Volume 1 of The Books of Lore: 1
Artemis Fowl
Or to keep younger readers quiet whilst you enjoy Arty get them these modern day Fairy Tales.
Spiderwick Collector's Trunk (Spiderwick Chronicles)
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
Reminiscent of `Doctor Who', Artemis Fowl is a young criminal genius travelling through time to face man-eating Trolls, high-tech Faries and flame-throwing Goblins. You could not find a children's/ teens adventure story with so much inspired creative vision beyond your wildest imagination; it is very exciting!

In `Artemis Fowl and the time paradox' he swaps criminal activity for a little bit of magic, (although complete with mayhem) Artemis travels through time to try and steal a cure from a devious mastermind, which he hopes will help his mother who is extremely ill. With, Fairy ally Captain Holly Short by his side, Artemis must face his deadliest enemy yet...

This brilliantly drawn tale is engagingly vivid, exciting and full of dry wit and humor that will make you laugh-out-loud. Reading one of Artemis' adventures is like reading a comic strip filled with non-stop action and nail-biting drama, which leaves you completely and utterly breathless. This is a real page-turner and one that both adults and kids alike will absolutely love, for it brings out the explorer in all of us. Ingenious schemes combined with a remarkable and quite extraordinary plot, left me in awe of Eoin Colfer's genius as a writer.

This exclusive, limited edition book contains extra material including another Artemis Fowl story inside, which contains even more fairy action and adventure! Additionally inside is an announcement regarding Colfer's new novel based on the incredible Douglas Adam's science-fiction series "The Hitch-Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy", and if that wasn't tempting enough snippets on the other books and `Artemis Fowl: the graphic Novel' are included.

Enter Artemis Fowl's wicked world at ~ artemisfowl.co.uk

Amid heart-pounding intensity and electric tension is a deeply engrossing storyline, which is so jam-packed and highly readable that it will have you clutching the pages tightly throughout. I love these books and cannot enthuse enough about Artemis Fowl who is so fantastic! If you love science-fiction and time travel, exploration and danger (complete with a colorful cast of captivating characters and curious creatures), then you will truly enjoy this spellbinding read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2016
This Artemis Fowl story didn't grab me the way previous ones have and I'd rate this one slightly lower, on par with The Arctic Incident. The plot was a little convoluted, but with time travel being crucial to the plot that's expected. Plus, Colfer can handle convoluted/ deceptive plots -- The Eternity Code break-in for one -- so I'm not sure why this one fell a bit flat. It was, however, nice to so easily contrast 'present-day' and 'younger' Artemis, and to see the growth he's made over the past five books.

I didn't feel like the initial villain, Dr. Kronski, was a real threat to Artemis, although his group, The Extinctionists, were an interesting concept. I was disappointed in Opal Koboi's return appearance, after enjoying her so much in The Opal Deception. Then, she perfectly straddled the line between madness and genius, in this I felt she leant too far on the crazy and unpredictable side. I did very much enjoy the cameo appearances -- a younger Mulch, the return of No.1 and a touching moment between Holly and Cmdr. Root.

Overall, this is a good adventure story, just not quite up to the level of other books in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2008
This book has everything we all liked about the previous Artemis Fowl books:
* A pacy page-turning plot
* Entertaining dialogue and humour all the way through
* Lots of action, never a dull chapter

Arty's mother is ill and the only cure comes from a lemur, the last of which died eight years previously. Warlock Demon Number 1 sends Artemis and Holly back in time to rescue the last of the lemurs.

I liked two things in particular...

It's very funny, the humour is at a new level compared with the earlier books. Reading about Artemis battling with his 10-year old self is very funny, as they wise-crack and try to outwit each other. Artemis has to battle with others, and Dr Damon Kronski is one of the funniest characters in all the books. The humour is drier and cleverer than before.

There's lots of plot twists, and lots of time paradoxes. The way they are all woven together is brilliant. I had lots of fun trying to figure out how all the time paradoxes worked.

If you liked books 1-5, you'll love this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Excellent products. Glad it is avialable to buy.
I love the instancy of delivery too.
Made a lot of difference to the little children at the home.

I am happy to buy other products with something similar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2008
Sure the summary sounds pretty interesting but the execution is, all in all, pretty weak. Two things bother me especially;

Artemis is just not that smart. In the other books he was obviously and ridiculously brilliant, but in this one he merely seems like an intelligent 16 year old - just so the opposition seems credibly formidable. Basically Artemis was jobbing.

It seems to me to be a very lazy book; as if Colfer needed to write another AF novel but he wasn't quite sure how to do it. Or maybe he just wasn't struck with inspiration this time. Either way it felt like a rehash, or half assed.

Still there where plenty of jokes, the dialogue was full of pretty brilliant humour, and it was jam packed full of the usual AF mayhem.

Overall verdict; worth reading but its probably best to get it from the library.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse