Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
641
4.4 out of 5 stars
Artemis Fowl
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 28 April 2015
In this first sequel Artemis Fowl discovers that his missing father is in fact still alive and is being held hostage by the Russian Mafiya in remote part of the Siberian coast. Before Arty can set his rescue plan in motion both he and Butler are whisked away to the Lower Elements for interrogation. Trouble is brewing with the Goblin population and initial suspicions point towards Arty. When he clears the lie detection he strikes a tenuous deal with the LEP-Recon to get to the bottom of the conspiracy in return for help rescuing his father.

Much of the novel is set in freezing cold north pole territory and the graphic novel adaptation captures the atmosphere perfectly. It moves along very quickly, cutting between Russia and the Lower Elements, and developing both plots simultaneously. It's still early days so Arty's sort-of romance with Holly isn't quite apparent yet, but their animosity is gradually turning to friendship. The paneling and artwork is perfect, and the humor and warmth between the characters translates flawlessly to this graphic incarnation.

A must-buy for Artemis Fowl fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
The second book of this series sees Artemis a year older. So now he is a 13 year old criminal mastermind, seeking his missing father, who has been kidnapped by the Russian Mafiya, when he himself is taken by the Fairies to help them defeat a power struggle in the underworld. No, it doesn't sound at all promising but nevertheless it develops into a totally gripping novel which is difficult to put down. One of those which you could happily keep on reading through the night.

When I had finished it, I immediately clicked the link and bought book 3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
My 11 year old son loves these graphic novels. This is the second Artemis Fowl graphic novel he's had, and he seized it with glee when he unwrapped it (it was a birthday present). The illustrations are sumptuous, with great colours and thick glossy pages. The whole book has a quality feel to it and the stories really come to life. The graphic novel format is terrific for these action adventures, and in no way should it be dismissed as a comic book. If you want your children to watch less TV, but can't get them to read a book, then try this. The novelty might just lure them to reach for that off switch. I can't think of a better stocking filler for Christmas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
I am a big fan of this series now and the third installment keeps up the excellent standard of the others. While I would say that the first book is truly outstanding on its own and neither this nor the second installment are absolutly as good at jumping off the page and grabbing your interest it is still an excellent book. I think eternity code is a turning point in the character development for the series and I must say it has left me excited to read the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
I read this shortly after the first Artemus Fowl book and although it isn't as instantly grabbing as the first one, Which I felt grabbed you and sucked you into the story right away, it is excellent. This book is a little slower paced than the first one but it gets going and when it does its just as good! I really enjoyed this finished it in two days because I just couldn't put it down.

Excellent read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2014
Not as good as the first three books (I wonder if there was intent to end as a trilogy). It was still enjoyable, and sets up the series to move in a new direction. This book brings in a lot of change and that is bound to be a little awkward. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series to see where it goes next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2016
Will Artemis ever return to his life of crime with the People?
Is Butler bullet proff? Is Holly the cutest elf? Read on to find out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2017
Not much to review. It is a good quality product and the content is up to everyone to judge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2016
The gang's all back, time to Wight each other's wrongs and work together. LEP to get their world and Artemis to get his Father
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
All of the Artemis Fowl stories are wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse