Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
337
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 August 2012
Like most people, I'd heard of Artemis Fowl, of course. It's one of those few YA series that can be mentioned in the same sentence as Harry Potter. Unfortunately the sentence usually runs along the lines: "Artemis Fowl, unlike the more successful Harry Potter books..."

And this is a shame. In the post-Potter YA boom, Colfer's books were sort of put in the shade, and assumed to be imitators by dint of the young lead character's odd name, and the presence of magic.

This first Fowl book is far from Hogwarts though. Rather than twinkly twee magical adventures with heroic well-scrubbed good boys and girls, Artemis Fowl is a YA SF thriller with technologically advanced fairies. Fowl himself is a ruthless antihero, a scheming evil boy genius, and the fact he loves his Mummy is really neither nor there.

Artemis Fowl is a teenage master criminal trying to restore his family fortune by extorting gold from the fairies. He has little compunction about kidnapping, violence and drugging members of his own family, as well as his servants and friends. He is a fantastically amoral creation.

The secondary characters are also well drawn, from Butler, a surrogate father figure, best friend and bodyguard to Artemis, to kidnapped leprechaun Captain Holly Short.

A great book that challenges the theory that crime doesn't pay, I look forward to reading the further adventures of Artemis Fowl... but not straight away. I felt this was a totally adequate standalone novel in its own right, and don't feel particularly gripped to read the next installment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
One of my favourite books as a child. Loses nothing re-reading it as an adult. Incredibly entertaining cover to cover. Classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
"This is an amazing story including a teenager, called Artemis, who is trying to wheedle some fairies out of their gold. Unfortunately, he fails miserably on several occasions..." Elsa, aged 8
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
Sent as a gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Brilliant, witty, original and fast moving. I bought it to read my son and couldn't put it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
Very hooking
The best book I have ever read it was extremely well rote and it gave a lot of detail which I absolutely love
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
My 10yr old son absolutely loved this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2005
i thought this book was the best i ever read. i enjoyed it because it is a fantasy and it is very exiting all the way through.
it is about a 12 year old anti hero who sets out with evil intetions and ends up a better person. thanks to the help of captain holly short and his body gaurd butler.
i would recomend this book to anyone who can read as it is fantastic.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2003
As a Harry Potter grown-up reader, I've grown used to criticism in the lines of the recent Byatt review. But I do think that there is a lot of comfort and interest in reading children's books in adulthood. It was lovely reading Artemis Fowl. The ingenuity of the literal and technological inventions of the writer was refreshing. The main characters enjoyable and believeable, though a bit Hollywood-streotyped. Self-humour and well-built suspense add to the fun. It was nice to see a children's author choosing characters that are different shades of grey, as in real life, and not all black and white. All in all, for a bit of good, soul-cleansing escapism, a very recommended read!
22 Comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2008
Another highly successful collection of books that give a new twist to faeries and all things mythical. Except unlike so many others of its kind, this book focuses upon the rather unlikely and unsavoury young aristocrat criminal mastermind, Artemis Fowl. On a quest to steal leprechaun gold, he holds a young faery to ransom but gets more than he bargains for as the winged equivalent of the SAS storm his plush mansion.

Eoin Colfer's genius in this series of books is injecting a somewhat tired premise with a new twist. Particularly with this first novel of the long-running series, the reader is given plenty to think about as faeries have jet-propelled wings and mythical creatures are given a gritty and very tangible edge.

There is no doubt that many more readers of various ages will enjoy Artemis Fowl, and like the other modern heavyweights such as Harry Potter, Colfer's books can quite easily be enjoyed by readers of all ages. However, in a school setting the book is most likely aimed for a gifted Year 4 reader and up. Regarding curriculum links, there is potential for some extravagant and rather ambitious science and maths lessons that can link with events in the book.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse