Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
80
Indigo Blue
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 August 2016
brilliant daughter loved it as she does with all Cathy Cassidy books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2007
Indigo Blue is a heart warming, original book by an original author. It is an imaginative situation about Indigo - a young teen girl - who's mum is in violent relationship with her new fella - Max. Indigo has no idea; Max always seemed to be so sweet to her and baby Misti.

Indigo is mums lucky color. She loves blue jewels and all the walls in her house are painted Indigo blue. Indigo has a good friend called Jo. Somehow, Jo knows that something is wrong at home but she thinks Indigo might get upset.

One morning Indigo wakes up and hears shouting and smashing downstairs and she gets ready for school. She looks at her mum and can tell she is in pain by all the bruises. Before she heads off for school her mum commands her to wait outside the school gates but something was very wrong...

Cathy Cassidy is the new Jacqueline Wilson!!!

By Naomi Rumley
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2005
Indigo blue is a really touching book about indie and her little sister who are brought up by their disorganised but caring mum, and trying to make a new life away from their violent dad. I have never read a book which portrays girls' friendships in such a real and sensitive way. It's so sad when Indie seems to be abandonned by her best friend. It makes her home situation seem all the worse. There are parts where you want to cry, and bits where you're holding your breath, wanting everything to work out for Indie. It's a great book, I absolutely loved it.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2005
This book is extremely good. It talks about a girl called Indigo (Indie) whose mother, after having an arguement with her boyfriend, runs away from him, taking Indigo and Indie's sister with her. They move to a dingy old flat with only biscuits to eat. Indie finds that when she goes to school her best friend Jo has gone off with a girl called Aisha. She has to deal with that, while her mum isn't able to cope. For the tryouts of the play, Indigo and Aisha get a really good part, which they share. Jo gets jealous and storms off. Aisha and Indie become friends. And even though Indie's mum has the impression that blue is her lucky colour, it doesn't seem to be doing much. Indie is really worried: if Max comes back to Mum then there'll be big trouble....
I loved this book! It was amazing and the storyline was great! Cathy Cassidy should continue writing books forever!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2013
After her first sucess with the bestselling novel Dizzy, Cathy Cassidy has done it again with Indigo Blue, arguably one of her best so far.
11 year old Indigo loves to daydream. But when she, her mum and babysister Misti suddenly leave home and mum's boyfriend Max, her happy world of daydreams comes crashing down. Before she knows it, she's trapped in a dinghy basement flat with a grumpy neighbour and no heating. Why would mum make them move to such a terrible place? As her whole world crumbles beneath her, Indigo realizes that her mum has a secret for running away...
This book was unputdownable. It was a little bit dragged out at some points and could probably been a lot shorter, but the final chapters were swift and gripping. Overall, a tear-wrenching story about family and friendship that captures the heartand engages the mind. Give Cathy Cassidy a big round of applause!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2013
I gave indigo blue a rating of 5 star rating because, it was so gripping and made me want to read on. I loved how indigo, misty and the mum, meet someone really nice who they make friends with, and how they face problems like trying to make a living and trying not to bump into Max and to top it all of, indigo is also trying to keep her friendship with Jo together. I loved the book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2017
Granddaughter loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2013
I really enjoyed reading Indigo Blue. I found it to be a story that would never been forgotten.It is based on a hard friendship and a emotional family life. I found this story in some ways sad. Very nice!.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2011
Cathy Cassidy has done it agin, created a totally gripping book. I was hooked from the first page and couldn't put it down. I will tell you the plot line, but I won't give anything away. Indigo has a little sister called Misti and they live to together with thier mum and step-day Max. Anna (the mum) falls out with Max, so Indigo, Misti and Anna move away. Max is gutted, he tries to make Indigo go home. Indigo falls out with Jo for being. Max keeps on following them, home from school and from having a day out. Goes home, and Max wants to take Anna out for Dinner. Will they get back together? Will Anna see Max for who he really is, you will just have to wait and find out. :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2015
'Indigo Blue' is a story written from the point of view of an eleven year old girl, Indigo. She lives at home with her mum, Anna, her mums boyfriend, Max and her sister Misti. However, after another vicious night, Indigo's mum tells Indigo that her and Misti will be moving out and going elsewhere away from Max. Scared and confused, Indigo follows her mums wishes and constantly reminds herself that it's her mums fault Max left her, her mum is clumsy, always has bruises and is often forgetful so she falls over some more. However, when they end up in a damp and dark flat with scary noises in the middle of the night, Indigo finds herself accepting the truth behind the fights. As well as the horrible dramas at home, Indigo braves school and finds herself battling with her best friend Jo, over boys and castings in a play, as well as finding herself confused about who she should trust and tell the truth to about home. Will it all be happy ever afters for Indigo?

Truthfully, I didn't think I'd enjoy this book at all. Cathy Cassidy is a strong writer who always has harsh topics which she covers beautifully, however I felt like the idea of an abusive step father and a confused yet heartbroken mother would be too strong and a little corny compared to other tales I have read. Yet, I was incredibly wrong! Cathy Cassidy has portrayed how a violent relationship effects a younger child, leaving them to cope with the siblings as well as the downfall of it all afterwards. The truth about abuse in relationships is highly truthful in this novel and as well as showing the truth from a child's point of view, you also get the sense of confusion and heartache from the victim of the violent abuse. As well as dealing with this as a harsh topic, Cathy has amazingly added in the thought of 'everyday girl problems' where Indigo is suffering the idea of loosing her best friend Jo just because some guy looked at her. Although these dramas don't compare to the harsh truths at home for Indigo, Cathy has clearly added them to show how Indigo has to either: be a normal child despite everything at home, or that she IS a normal child despite everything at home. It also gives a more relatable approach for people, as not everyone would have suffered an abusive relationship in their life or witnessed one, whereas everyone has lost friends over petty arguments.

Overall, the story is strong with a good character build up. The characters all have amazing personalities that spill into the page, and the book is simply written to accustom to the idea of it being from an eleven year old. Each setting is amazingly etched into your brain using imagery, and also Cathy hasn't made the book to day-dreamy with too many hopes and wishes. It is the cold, hard truth at most times. Also, the main drama is the relationship between Indigo's mother and her mothers boyfriend. There isn't an overdramatic amount of drama which completely engulfs the story and makes it hard to process, understand and enjoy.

I'd recommend this book to young readers for something to maybe introduce them to the darker side of novels and the harsh drama side of things. I also think that people who enjoy the harsh reality kind of novels would enjoy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Driftwood
£6.99
Angel Cake
£4.63
Scarlett
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here