Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
76
4.4 out of 5 stars
Gladiator: Son of Spartacus
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 July 2013
An excellent read and typical of Simon Scarrow's writing abilities. Like all of his novels of a similar ilk, the book takes you back to imperial Rome with all of its political infighting and focus on the variance between the 'haves' and 'have nots'. From a personal perspective, Mr Scarrow's books are an absolute enjoyment to read and this particular novel is no different.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
I have read a lot of Simon Scarrows books and I would say this is one of his top books, be the follow up of of Gladiator i really think he knew what he had in mind for the second book when he wrote the first the one, me being a boy a similar age to Marcus it is really easy for mr just understand what he is saying.
Top notch book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
Thought it was an excellent read but not very believable somehow I don't think that Julius Caesar would be talking and listening to a twelve year old boy.the Gladiator series would be an excellent read for teens who would wish to start reading into Roman life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
I liked this book as it was easy reading and informative fiction. I would recommend it to fans of historical fiction, warfare gamers, or anybody who has an interest in the Classical World as it would surely dispel any myths of the romanticism of that period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
Love the Scarrow brothers series. Great for school reading.
His other series are also fantastic reading and great history. Appreciate his writing for the younger reader now. I work as a librarian at a K-3 grade and read to the older classes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
I like Scarrow and should have realised that this was more aimed at children .... so a bit lightweight but a good introduction to historial fiction for children and a good way to enthuse children about history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
Bought for my 10 year old and he loved it, has read all the Gladiator books and can't wait for the next one. He is also a big fan of the Alex Scarrow books. He would be a fairly advanced reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
As in all of his books Simon Scarrow researches his material well and presents the story in a very readable and interesting manner.
The problem for me is I always want the next installment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
when you read a Simon Scarrow book its good from start to finish, i would recommend this book because when you pick it up you dont want to put it down till you have read it.A
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
Amazing awesome brilliant book best so far . Superb historical accounts. And perfect example of the people who are in it from the historic periods .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse