Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
34
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 September 2012
A charming story about a pig which the farmer wins at a fair and turns out to be very intelligent and acts at sheep trial as a sheep dog.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2005
I loved this book 20 years ago and I love it now.
I bought this copy as a treat for myself after seeing "Babe" on television on Christmas Eve and it is every bit as good as I remember it .
Wonderful, just like all the best fairy stories
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Great story with interesting characters- good for lower KS2 and good to look at in conjunction with the film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
I have read the Sheep-pig as a school reading project. The main characters are: Babe the pig, Fly the sheep dog, Mr Hogget the farmer, Mrs Hogget and Ma the old sick sheep. As soon as I started to read about the story of Babe I wanted to read more.
It is set on Farmer Hogget's farm. His farm is big with fields and in one of the fields is a flock of sheep. The sheep-pig is about a kind man called Mr Hogget who took babe the orphaned pig back to his house from the funfair. When Babe came home with the farmer, Fly the sheep dog looked after him as her child. Soon babe wanted to be like his foster mother. In the mean time, ma the old sick sheep helped babe to be friendly with the sheep flock. Farmer Hogget thought babe could be as talented as a sheep-dog. He goes on to score 100/100 at the sheep-dog trials and becomes a very famous pig.
Babe is a children's story that will catch the imagination of all who read it. I loved this story and it is now one of my favorite books, as it was hilarious and funny to read.
James Aged 9 Henry Moore Primary School
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
even the film "Babe" was a good version of this, which is unusual if the original source is good. (Admittedly the sequel wasn't so good). Dick KIng-Smith of course is/was a farmer so his voice is authentic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2008
Babe was the prize at the one of the stalls at the fair and when Mr Hogget tries at this stand, he actually wins. So the pig is taken back to the farm which is owned by this lucky prize winning man and the little animal is destined to be put into the freezer as ham or bacon or something similar but does he? Find out in this book...
This is a hilarious story about a pig whose future is not like any other boar but more like the life of his adopted mother the sheep dog. How very strange!

I would rate this book 10/ 10 because it is so gripping and everyone can enjoy it because the story line is so simple but still interesting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
I love all Dick King-Smith's work, and am torn between claiming 'The Guard Dog' or "The Sheep Pig" as his masterpiece, but since it doesn't matter, I'll just say ALL his work are masterpieces.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2016
Great story. My 6 year old loved it. It is good to hark back to simpler times with no moble phones or technology. Just a pig who wants to be a sheep dog and succeeds because he is polite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
We chose this book for our granddaughter, age 7.
She loves it!
A story that stands the test of time, as do so many Dick King-Smith stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2016
A super author, have purchased many books by this author, this is perfect for Year 2/3 in school years. Not too long and a strong story line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Need customer service? Click here