Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Buddy
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
32
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2013
This tale opens with the main character Buddy stealing £5 from his mothers purse(which would be bad enough nowadays but in those days it will have been an awful lot of money and i did wonder how many teenagers reading it would have thought about that).
It follows him for a short time through the turmoil of his life. Having no control over things which affect children daily but having to suffer the consequences; from teachers calling him 'dustbin man' over his uniform, to his peers tormenting him about his home life. He juggles going to school, trying to survive living with, and caring for, his dad after mum leaves them, and having no (clean, or fitting) clothing or bedding (he sleeps in an unwashed sleeping bag).
I really felt for him; the confusion of he both loved and hated his parents. Mum for leaving him in his dads care and Dad for not seeming to care, leaving him to fend for himself.
I'd like to say 'alls well, that ends well' and it does end, not well but realistically.
I applaud the author for not giving it too shiny an ending, although you are left feeling he will probably be ok in the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
I really love this book I read it in high school 5 years ago and had to just read it again. great read
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2007
I saw this book being used in a year 7 class and they were all fully engrosed, even the boys. I think it worked so well because the relationship Hinton forges with Buddy, his mother and his father is so convincing as well as the reactions Buddy has to certain situations-feeling guilty that he made his mother leave, fustration at his dads choices in life, anger at the way that his teacher treats his (coloured) friends. I really enjoyed working with the class on this book and would recommend it to other KS3 teachers as a text.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2005
book of my dreams if onli Nigel(the auther) would make more of these books. I would defiently recommend reading this amzing book. (saying this book is amazing is an understatment of the century and its only 2005) well amyway lets get back to the book. Its about a lad called Buddy and him and his dad dont get along that well as his dad is a teddy boy. Things get better for their relationship when his mum leaves them. He really fells its his fault his mum had walked out and left. It is a book that can really help you in everyday situations. A great read order it off here from amazon immediately and the two even better follow up books. 1000 out of 20 its seriously that good
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2007
It is about a young boy who has a lot of trouble fitting in at school therefore has very few friends and nothing seems to go right for but is determined to make things right. The opening of the story was very dramatic as it started with buddy, the main character, stealing £5.00 from is mother's purse for a school trip. This opening rely sets the tone for the book incredibly well. The amount of time the book covers is a very large amount of time (18 months) therefore this allows the reader appreciate what is going on and how things have been affected by actions that took place very early in the book.

The main character in the book is Buddy who is a very energetic character but is hard to follow at times and came across as very selfish. My favourite Character was buddy's farther Terry as he had a very interesting personality and was very mysterious and complex. It rely suited his character to have a east London accent as you would associate people like him to that region. I also found the relationship between him and Buddy's mother very intriguing as you could tell that despite splitting up they still rely liked each other but they don't seem able to show it to each other. I also quiet liked Charmain as she had a very caring personality and played a very good role in the book which her character suited.

The story was written from a third person view. This is beneficial to the story as it enables the reader to know
each characters view without the 1st persons view coming through. I would have preferred to know more about Mr King because at some points his name comes up but whose character is not made very clear. My Favourite part of the story was when buddy and his friends are exploring the house in Croxley Street as this is the point were the story starts to pick up and becomes more interesting.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
Forget the naff film of this with Roger Daltrey. This dates from the early 80s, but is still one of the best young teen reads around. Quite gritty without being gratuitous.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
I really loved buddy it was thrilling and it had a real point to explain it was touching and heartfelt i really rate it to any reader i loved it it was amazing
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The story began with a boy called Buddy who wanted to go on a school trip and he stole money from his mothers purse.It was about Buddy through a year which included his mother leaving, hisfather getting arrested for robbery and Buddy running away from home and camping out. I think the story itself was good but it was boring in parts because there was not enough happening.

The main characters were Buddy,Mr clark,Mr King and the beast.Buddy was a selfish character because he is always thinking of himself.Mr Clark was a mysterios character because he wouldn't tell anyone what is job was and he was always keeping secrets.

I didn't enjoy the book because it was not enough happening and it dragged on. My favourite part of the story when Buddy's mother moved back in with Buddy and His father.I think the ending of the story was good because Buddy's mother moved back in and his father didn't have as long as he thought in prison.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2007
the story began with buddy wanting to go on a school trip and he stole money off his mother to go on the trip. it was about buddys mother leaving and not telling buddy or his father. she was gone for 14 months and in that time buddys father got arrested for jewellary thieft. i think the story itself was good but boring at some points because buddy was going on and on about himself.the main characters was my king buddy and his mother and father and the beast.buddy was funny and boring all in one. my favourite charector was mrs soloman because shes in a wheelchair and she was funny. i did enjoy reading this book but it was boring at most point. the ending of the book was good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2007
The story began with a young boy who wanted to go on a school trip so he stole money from his mother. I think the story itself was exciting because of all the things that happen like Buddys father cutting his hands, Buddy running away from home and Buddys father getting a job that he wont tell anyone about.

The main characters are Buddy,Dez King and Ralph campbell. Buddy was a annoying character because he keeps complaining and feeling sorry for himself. Dez King was a exciting character because he is very mysterious. Ralph is a weird character because he eats cold food and barely talks.

I enjoyed reading it because it was mysterious and exciting. My favourite part of the story was when Buddys father came home late at night with his hands covered with blood. You could make it better by at the end Buddys father could come home from prison
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here