Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
99
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

It is the first time I have read the full version of all his travels. I am still amazed that in the mid 17th century such a talented aurthor should be able to put into words so much material that is still relevant today. His imagination captures the reader from many aspects. In the later travels the variety of societies he encounters and the discussions put forward really just go to show that much is the same today..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2017
Excellent introduction to quite a complex story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
One of the best classics of all time! I have tried many versions of Gulliver's Travels before but I think that Penguin Classics is the best by far!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
Received my copy of Gulliver's Travels (Penguin Classics Edition) in perfect condition and in double quick time - very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
WTF? its only half the book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 February 2013
This nearly 300 year old classic deserves its reputation, but it is a novel of two halves. The first two books of the four, in which Gulliver visits respectively Lilliput (very small people) and Brobdingnag (giants) are very good, funny, adventurous, imaginative and bawdy and would be worth 5/5 by themselves. However, I found the latter two books when he visits the flying island of Laputa and other lands; then in the final book, the land of the Houyhnhnms (intelligent horses subjugating primates who resemble degraded humans) duller and a lot harder to get through. They contain a lot of quite clever satire on the human condition and on civic life in Europe, but are rather overegged and over long, with little plot so rather a slog. 2/5 for the latter half, so overall 3.5/5 (rounded up to 4/5 on Amazon - when will they allow us halves?).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2015
Thanks: )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
It is a classic and worth reading, but the author is incredibly repetitive in his style and by the end of the book it has become quite tedious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2016
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse