Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
Perfect!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
First published in 1862, at which time its themes of avarice, bigamy and murder shocked and tantalized its readers, Mary Elizabeth Braddon's 'Lady Audley's Secret' became one of the most sensational novels of its time. The novel's main protagonist is the young and beautiful Lucy Graham, a penniless governess who attracts the attention of the wealthy widower Sir Michael Audley, whose country seat is Audley Court. When Sir Michael proposes, the lovely Lucy accepts and she looks forward to a life of luxury and ease; however, her relationship with her new stepdaughter, Alicia, leaves a lot to be desired, and when Sir Michael's nephew, Robert, arrives at Audley Court with his friend, George Tallboys (who has recently returned from Australia and is grieving from the death of the wife he left behind in England), Lucy's behaviour becomes rather erratic and she makes excuses to avoid meeting them. And then George suddenly and very mysteriously disappears and Robert, distrusting his lovely, but manipulative new step-aunt, decides to investigate Lucy's past - however, to reveal more would spoil the story for those who have yet to read the novel.

Influenced by the case of the real-life murderess Constance Kent, and where alongside its themes of bigamy and murder, are those of gender and class, this 'sensation' novel, like Wilkie Collins' hugely entertaining 'The Woman in White', requires the reader to suspend their disbelief at times, but also has them rapidly turning the pages in order to discover Lady Audley's secret. And although it is fairly clear from early on in the story what the lovely Lucy is trying to conceal, we do not know the full depth of her deception, and of what she is prepared to do keep her secret, until all is finally revealed towards the end of the story. Although I have to say that this is not a novel in which the plot bears close analysis, I was drawn into the story from the opening pages and was entertained from start to finish.

4 Stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
Fantastic. Thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
If you're a fan of Wilkie Collins and sensation novels, then this is a book for you. It includes all of the good things that you need in a thriller - fast paced, shock twists and turns, suspense and scandal, which keeps you guessing right to the end. Whereas some nineteenth century novels can take a while to warm into the story, Lady Audley's Secret gets right into the action from the start. This is a book that focuses on everything from greed and pride to madness and superstition.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2012
A hugely enjoyable read. It's a Victorian Mills and Boon-cum-detective novel and perfect for those times when you just want to relax and be entertained.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
I bought this book as a gift for someone and I had purchased it before but from a different seller and I was happy with the quality so I ordered another one but from a different seller. The quality of the book was sooooo bad, the front cover was so rough and looked as if it was used or something and I was so embarassed to gift it. I would not recommend this to anyone one, or at least not from this seller. Normally the penguin library books have a really good cover texture, its really soft and clean, however, this one was no way near the other ones and was like a fake edition/copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
I had never hear of the author previously and thoroughly enjoyed reading this.When you read this book remember the era during which it was written and the readership it was written for. Books like this are something of a window to the period.Not as tedious as some Victorian writers!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
I'm so very happy with the wonderful edition you have sent me !!! What a truly wonderful book !!! THANK YOU - I'm delighted !!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
Interesting on many levels. We think we know who done it, the question is how will she get away with it. The plot works itself out wonderfully and we can still be surprized. As a modern reader there is much to think about around what was expected of women, can ambition tip into insanity and also the sexuality of the main male protagonist. The author herself had a fascinating life and is worth reading up on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse