Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2017
The translation could be more easy-to-read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
Not a real lover of Vermes prose but it is comprehensive guide to DS Books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
thank you this is what I wanted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
still reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
a Fascinating read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2016
just what i,ve been waiting for.just wonderfull for Latterday Saints.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
Good information on the Dead Sea scrolls
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
Do not imagine you buy this one book and you buy the complete collection of the Dead Sea Scroll texts, all translated into English. Penguin have been a bit liberal with its title. No, the Biblical texts, like Isaiah and Genesis appear in other books, not here.
This is a collection of the short parchment pieces, external to the Holy Bible. It comments on those secondary scraps which few take note of but which are very important in understanding the times especially of the days of Christ in first century Judea. These 'scraps' usually hold only a few words, sometimes less than a sentence, but for any student of the Dead Sea Scrolls - this is an invaluable work.
Of-course Vermes gives his usual cutting introduction into the wayward start these parchments first found the light of day after entombed for near two thousand years, but the end result and overall effect of the book is a fully detailed, extremely well documented, explanation of each piece.
Each is catalogued and can be researched further including its place of discovered origin. This is an excellent resource.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2010
It goes into a lot of detail about the texts and the community itself in the introduction to the book, before it gets into the actual texts themselves, which is the main reason benefit I have derived from the book so far.

The texts themselves offer us an invaluable verification that the Bible has indeed been preserved for us through the centuries. One example is found on page 15 for example where Vermes says "Before 1947 the oldest Hebrew text of the whole of Isaiah was the Ben Asher codex from Cairo dated to 895 CE, as against the complete Isaiah scroll found at cave I, which is about a millennium older."

It's a Penguin Classic and quite a hefty tome. It does leave out the Biblical texts themselves, as they are obviously very well known, and very accessible and therefore of less interest to the general reader, though they can be found in a separate publication available here:

The Dead Sea Scrolls Bible: The Oldest Known Bible Translated for the First Time Into English

It's got a generous bibliography at the back too, which gives me the access I was looking for to decent works related to the Essenes theological, eschatological, religious and practical points of view, rather than the New Age tripe I was finding on Amazon's search engine.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)