Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2013
The translation was pretty good, and it had been formed to be an easy to read version of the story. Not helpful for an academic purpose, since there is no line numbers down the pages, you have to use the note at the top and count yourself. Not that much of a problem, but it made my disseration take somewhat longer when finding line references for quotes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
needed this for uni - absolutely amazing and I cannot stress how amazing lattimores translation is! If you are looking for a good iliad translation i would highly recommend this one! I have tried a wordworth classics one and it was.... very difficult to get into. Lattimore really brings the text alive here - would defo recommend considering the price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
A truly brilliant interpretation of the world classic, one of my favourites of all time Robert Fagles has added a real poetic twist to the English interpretation of the great story, whilst keeping the language and construction of the original, this is to delve into the oral tradition of the The Odyssey and to read it as it may well have been spoken in far off days, it is the very stuff of ancient Greek myth. I would recommend this to any one who loves ancient Greece, it still is one of the great story's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
It's The Illiad.
What more can you say.
This edition is well presented, but in essence it's The Illiad.
If you enjoy this, there's always The Odessey.
Goes to show that even three thousand years ago they were dealing in sequels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2017
The cover is beautiful. If you're looking for a shelf-piece then this is certainly a good item. I have another copy which I used for studying, and the translation is good. Although not as interesting story-wise as the Odyssey, it's a great read. Just skip chapter 2 if you know what's best for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
Fagles translation of his epic tale is excellent. Hard to believe this story written two thousand years ago still has relevance today. An insight into the best and worst of human behaviour. Very pleased with my purchase. Delivered in good time and condition as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
a good read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
I'm not too well-read in the classics, but I can say for sure that Homer's 'Odyssey' will be a favourite, no matter how many of the timeless novels I read! At first, I was thinking that the novel was a little heavy (not literally!) for casual reading, but after familiarising myself with the characters (there aren't too many to learn), I found that it read as smoothly as many 20th century books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2016
Read it to my class (age 9-10), displayed on the whiteboard with kindle online. Absolutely brilliant. The children were enthralled and it inspired them with their own writing, particularly to be adventurous with their word choices. Great book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
Studying classics and this was reading material for this year. A good copy and very happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse