Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 28 March 2016
...but chock full of witty and pithy observations, beautiful descriptions and bang-on accurate portrayals of how people actually feel. Virtually no real action but utterly compelling.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2017
I read 'Boy' and 'Going Solo' and enjoyed them greatly but found this disappointing. I much preferred his real life tales, I only got as far as storey 2 and gave up on it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2016
Bought for a 94 year old relative who was a navigator in the RAF - active service in Egypt at same time as Dahl
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2017
Human experience highlighting the tragedy and futility of war and the nature of suffering interspersed with humanities hidden spiritual soul of underlying love
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2016
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2016
Very happy recipient for whom book purchased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2010
Don't expect that this book will cast much light on Roald Dahl's flying career in the Middle East as I hoped that it would. It is, however, a great collection of absorbing short stories which make excellent bedtime reading. Dahl's more factual account of the RAF in the ill-fated campaign in Greece does provide some enlightenment of Dahl's wartime experiences.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2015
same stories appear in The Complete Short Stories: Volume One ...

ended up paying twice as I bought this before realising the other edition. stories very good though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2014
As good as i remember it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2015
Dahl was the most creative of writers , highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here