Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
124
4.7 out of 5 stars
Siddhartha (Penguin Modern Classics)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 July 2017
This is how literature should be, Siddhartha takes you to a different place.
As a German married to an Indian lady this all blends into my life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
One of the best books I have read in ages
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
Very hard to read, but a good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
If there is only one book in your lifetime that you should read - it's this. If there is only one chapter, it's the last. Unbelievably amazing book.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2017
The best book about budism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2017
A beautiful, simply written book set in ancient India at the time of the Buddha, wherein Siddhartha (the son of a Brahmin) sets off from home looking for enlightenment. He travels the countryside, meets different religious groups whose teachings he ends up rejecting, falls in love, has a son who abandons him, becomes rich then gives everything away, becomes a ferryman and eventually sort of understands the meaning of life. The society in which it is set is an alien one, yet I think the appeal of this book lies in the universal resonance of Siddhartha’s search for meaning and the many mistakes he makes along the way. His ultimate revelations have a sense of elegant wisdom:

“I have had to experience so much stupidity, so many vices, so much error, so much nausea, disillusionment, and sorrow, just in order to become a child again and begin anew. I had to experience despair, I had to sink to the greatest mental depths, to thoughts of suicide, in order to experience grace.”
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
Hermann Hesse sees the true nature of existence, and is remarkable in his ability to put his insight into a beautifully crafted story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Not for me but doesn't mean it's not for you!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Great book! A Classic I would recommend to anyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here