Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 August 2006
Around the time Bellow received the Nobel for this novel, he was the subject of my college dissertation. It was to be almost thirty years before I revisited Humboldt's Gift again as my inflight reading on a trip to the US, and when I did the experience was somewhat different.

First I noted the humour. I remembered its being an amusing book, but never as hilarious as I found it so many years on. I reflected on whether I had truly understood some of the references, and on how much more I identified with the book having travelled to some of the places mentioned - Texas, Chicago, New York, Madrid. The whole thing was so much less abstract, so I felt more able to immerse myself in the characterisation, without the need to expend energy trying to imagine what these places looked like.

It was the characterisation that really stood out, from the outwardly bullish but inwardly sheepish Charlie Citrine, and his scheming girlfriend Renata and her conspiratorial mother; the minor hoodlum Cantabile and his academic girlfriend Polly; and on to the tragic Humboldt himself, long deceased by the time of the book's opening but a constant, spectral presence throughout. Finally, the roguish Thaxter, Citrine's "business partner", a man who may well have inspired the leadership of Enron.

In addition, some of the vocabulary surprised me. For example, "leveraged". Had I registered the word back in the seventies? I guessed not. It's a word I'd associated with management consultants, financial derivatives and the eighties.

Much of the book is a study in pain, from Citrine's guilt at avoiding the down-and-out, soon-to-die Humboldt on the street in New York, his anguish over his vandalised Mercedes, the wrangles with his ex-wife and his abandonment in Madrid with Renata's son, as she stays in Chicago to marry Citrine's rival in love, Flonzaley the undertaker. However, although it is easy to empathise with the suffering, and the abandonment in particular left me feeling trapped, claustrophobic and betrayed on Citrine's behalf, he himself sustains an air of detachment throughout, even going so far as to observe that he could probably put a stop to Cantabile's nonsense immediately, but just can't be bothered.

Cantabile himself is the low-life's low-life. From the incident where he insists Citrine shares the cubicle with him while he takes a crap, through to his offer of a threesome with Polly, there is plenty to dislike about him.

But still there is the humour - even the abandonment has its comic moments - just in case we should take things too seriously. Thaxter's fascination with Cantabile, for instance, which not only leads to rather more contact with the guttersnipe than Citrine cares for but also ultimately to his arrest as Cantabile presents him as a hitman at a meeting which turns out to be a sting set up by the cops.

As with other Bellow works, the erudition is stupendous, with references to a galaxy of writers, politicians, philosophers and World Historical Figures. Their lives and works are constantly analysed by the inner dialogue continually raging in Citrine's head - it's no surprise to learn Bellow was heavily influenced by Joyce, though to get a better flavour of that read Bellow's earlier novel, Herzog.

However, sad to say that, contrary to other reviews, there is no sinister Master, and no plot in the White House; nor does Dr Who make an appearance at any point in the book.

Humboldt's Gift seems to get by all right without these essentials, nevertheless. As with any classic literature, it has stood the test of time, so although the setting is now a few decades past, the dilemmas and responses of the characters are as relevant now as they were then.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 April 2014
In one of the 20th-century masterpieces of literary fiction, a puzzled American genius, grizzled and passionate, on the edge of spiritual and erotic revelation, is hounded by old memories, lawyers, a disgruntled wife, financial troubles and manic characters. A charismatic second-rate hoodlum, a zany literary partner and a would-be-wife threaten, cajole and provoke him through his all too human odyssey through spiritual recollection, mindfulness and vision. Throughout, the evocative memories and deeds of his deceased lifelong poet friend, collaborator and rival twist him this way and that. The esoteric philosophy of Rudolf Steiner provides the foundation. This is a stunning pyrotechnic of erudition, muscular style, and tragicomic narration. If you like Shakespeare you will like this. Humboldt is a 20th-century Hamlet, possibly crossed with Goethe’s Faust.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
This novel won a Pulitzer prize and contributed to Saul Bellow winning the Nobel Prize for literature many years ago. The novel charts the artistic relationship between Charlie Citrine, an economically successful writer, and his mentor Von Humboldt Fleisher - an alcoholic, mentally ill poet with aspirations to cultural and spiritual greatness. Von Humbolt is dead and Citrine is reflecting back on Von Humbolt’s aspirations. Meanwhile Citrine is being pestered and advised by a petty gangster called Cantabile and is also having to deal with his girlfriend and his ex-wife. Apparently Citrine represents Saul Bellow to some degree and Von Humbolt, again to some degree, represents Delmore Schwartz who, to me at least, is famous for having been a mentor of Lou Reed.

I read this novel because of a quotation from it that prefaces an excellent book by Stan Cohen and Laurie Taylor called “Escape Attempts: The Theory and Practice of Resistance to Everyday Life”. This is a quotation:

“For me the self-conscious ego is the seat of boredom. This increasing, swelling, domineering, painful self-consciousness is the only rival of the political and social powers that run my life (business, technological-bureaucratic powers, the state). You have a great organised movement of life, and you have a single self, independently conscious, proud of its detachment and its absolute immunity, its stability and its power to remain unaffected by anything whatsoever-by the sufferings of others or by society or by politics or by external chaos. In a way it doesn’t give a damn. It’s asked to give a damn, and we often urge it to give a damn but the curse of none caring lies upon this painfully free consciousness. It is free from attachment to beliefs and two other souls. Cosmologies, ethical systems? It can run through them by the dozens. For to be fully conscious of oneself as an individual is also to be separated from all else. This is Hamlet’s kingdom of infinite space in a nutshell, of ‘words, words, words,’ of ‘Denmark’s a prison’.

This appears in about the middle of the novel in a very amusing section in which Citrine considers writing a history of boredom noting amongst other things that power is the power to bore other people (I always think of Fidel Castro infamously giving three-hour political lectures). As such I think at the core of this novel is a really important statement about the vacuity of Western culture and thought-it’s abstract waffling disconnection from life. There is a great moment, for example, when Citrine realises that for all his understanding of the motives desires and so on of characters in literature he cannot divine or understand his young daughter’s states of mind over the purchase of the bicycle for her birthday that he thinks she is not yet ready for. Likewise I could wax lyrical about the motives and foibles of the character King Lear but often remain in the dark when it comes to understanding the less complex people standing next to me or for that matter understanding myself. There is something of Pascal’s observations that we ‘understand the starry heaven’s above but not ourselves’ about all this.

I think these are important culturally insighful themes but I find it hard to recommend this book because the way that these ideas are conveyed is by writing a very lengthy book in which the central character is shown to be endlessly running through ideas and ‘words, words, words’ to no particular avail. This makes for quite tedious reading on which I found it difficult to concentrate which was not helped by also never once feeling any particular sympathy for any of the characters. That said - this is us. In much of literature people are driven and animated by narratives/ideas whereas in ‘real-life’ most of us just flounder about in them pompously pontificating to no noticeably discernible effect. Maybe it’s just us that I find it difficult to have any particular sympathy for.

Difficult and tedious reading that skilfully demonstrates powerful ideas with which to clutter our minds…
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2016
At the risk of being labelled a Philistine, I dislike this book intensely. There is too much that seats it in an America of a certain time and, more narrowly a certain type of urban life. For that reason it can never to be considered a classic: much of it is unintelligible unless you too are of a similar time and place. Other than to demonstrate an author's superior intellect and education the recourse to untranslated French phrases and obscure literary references is pointless. To me it shows that the author is more interested in massaging his own ego than in communicating with his readers. I did not know there was a Nobel prize for pretentious twaddle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
Brilliant and funny, this is only the 2nd book I've read by Bellow,I don't think any writer I have read covers so much history and so many ideas so gently and with such rich mixture of pathos and hope.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 August 2015
A prize-winning author whose creative life is stagnant while his personal life is in a mess, Charlie Citrine is haunted by memories of his former friend and mentor, the brilliant but manic poet Humboldt Fleischer. Humboldt is based on the real-life poet Delmore Schwartz, a one-time colleague of Saul Bellow, to whom Charlie himself bears quite a strong resemblance.

The rambling plot which switches back and forth in Charlie’s mind is mainly a framework for Saul Bellow’s astonishing prose, a mind-blowing stream of consciousness, with punctuation (minus commas between adjectives, an interesting technique). This is leavened by many very funny descriptions and dialogues, which may atone for any irritation over yet another novel by a writer about writers, and for Bellow’s casual cultural references which require everyone who is not an American with an encyclopaedic general knowledge to either break the rhythm of reading to look them up, or remain in ignorance.

The humour also serves as an antidote to Citrine’s philosophical musings about the state of the soul, the existence of an after-life and the decline of American society by the 1970s into consumerism and banality. Citrine’s monologues, which tend to be made more digestible for the reader by frequent mocking or teasing interruptions, generally from female lovers past and present, suggest that his ideas are underdeveloped, even confused. Yet this may be intentional, since Bellow himself seems to have changed his opinions substantially over his long life spent reflecting on the meaning of life.

You may regret that Bellow dissipated his extraordinary verbal talent on such a self-absorbed, self-indulgent, weak, lecherous man as Citrine, although he is redeemed by a self-deprecating sense of humour and a rather appealing ability to understand the viewpoint of those fleecing and manipulating him, and to find a sense of proportion when things get tough. Bellow might of course argue that Citrine is merely a parody of himself, a man whose flaws did not prevent him from producing brilliant prose. So, despite its verbosity, repetition, sometimes woolly thinking, and damp squib conclusion, this original, remarkable work with its stunning descriptions of places, notably Chicago, and people, its wit, interesting ideas, insights and ultimately entertaining plot is worth reading – although you have to take the novel slowly to get the most out of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2000
One of the most enjoyable books I have read. Witty dialogue, great characterisation and a plot that keeps the pages turning. I found Charlie Citrine's philosophising as he wrestled with his: ailing career, ex-wife's litigation, harrassment by a minor mafiosi, disastrous business ventures, gold-digging girlfriend etc, absolutely fascinating. Bellow's imagination and his prose in this book suggest to me an author at the peak of his powers.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2008
This is a great book, but beware prospective purchasers! I bought this edition specifically because it is advertised as having an introduction by Martin Amis, who is my favourite writer and Saul Bellow's greatest fan, but in fact this edition does not have an introduction of any sort. A little more work by amazon to get their facts right would be nice.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2000
Bellow at his best and probably most accessible. He demonstrates with ease his sharp humour, usual dazzling use of language, immense learning...It seems to me that almost every sentence of this book is quotable. I have a good mind to try memorise the bloody book. Buy it, read it, reread it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2001
I've just finished reading this novel tonight (in a flimsy library copy) and feel that there is so much I could say about it, about Charlie Citrine, the narrator and Humboldt his friend, and their wide-ranging thoughts on love and death, poetry and philosophy, art and life. But I won't do that; I'll just record that my immediate thought was, "I want to have this book in hardback!" Not only to read again, but to dip into and find those oh-so quotable lines once more. Charlie's topic may often be death, but it's a real Book of Life.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse