Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
13
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2015
Big fan of Capote, I enjoy all of his work to date
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
Read on the back of reading Harper Lee (and discovering that Dill in those books was Capote, just as Scout is described by Capote in this one), this immediately became one of my all time favourite reads, one that I wanted to read and savour every word of. What a talent was wasted, I couldn't help but think. I had never read what is often described as "Southern Gothic" before, and this may well define the genre, with its creepy house and creepy people. But it is the prose that just astounded me, so beautifully crafted it was, if a little OTT at times. The ending becomes a bit jumbled, but the last few lines must be some of the saddest I've ever read. It's rather pointless to call a book a masterpiece, but it's the only word that came to mind on finishing it. And hugely enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Exquisite descriptive writing abounds in this short novel, a coming of age tale of 13 year old Joel Knox, sent to live with the father he has never met.
This really immerses you in the world of rural Alabama:
'Deep in the hollow, dark syrup crusted the bark of vine-roped sweetgums; like pale apple leaves green witch butterflies sank and rose; a breezy lane of trumpet lilies beckoned like hands lace-gloved and ghostly.'
The boy encounters a weird household- father ill in bed, strange stepmother and Cousin Randolph (an Oscar Wilde type character.) He befriends the house servant and Idabel, a local tomboy with her own issues.
Then the latter part of the book becomes hard to follow, but we see Joel starting to come to terms with his homosexuality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 August 2011
Following the death of his mother, thirteen year old Joel Knox travels to Alabama to live with his estranged father in a large, remote and decaying house where also live his step mother and cousin Randolph. He has never meet his father, and it seems upon arrival that he is not likely to meet him soon either, but that is just one of the many mysteries that will trouble young Joel, who is fast beginning to think is move South is at best a disaster, and at worst a betrayal.

But he finds friends in the form of a neighbour the rough and ready young tomboy Idabel, in Zoo the black help, and a black hermit who works charms. But he is also drawn to homosexual cousin Randolph; and his somewhat girlish good looks enamour him to most of those he meets.

Other Voices, Other Rooms is a beautiful story, as much from the way it is told as its content, rich in remarkable and imaginative metaphors that create a steamy atmosphere of the hot South; subtle in its depiction of the coming Joel's awareness of homosexuality; and full of insight - it is a most moving and captivating read, all the more remarkable considering the young age of its author, his first book.

This Penguin Classics 2004 edition contains an interesting introduction by John Berendt which adds much to our understanding of the novel, not least of which is its autobiographical content.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2008
This is Capote's debut novel and tells the story of Joel Knox, a thirteen-year-old boy sent to live with his estranged father in Alabama following the death of his mother. What he discovers there is a dilapidated mansion, his prim step-mother Amy, his witty and somewhat debauched cousin Randolph, and the mysterious absence of his father. Over the course of the novel Joel's transition from boyhood to adolescence and all the self-discovery that entails is traced with a deft, subtle pen.

This is a short novel at less than two-hundred pages, but each page is brimming with richly poetic language that brilliantly evokes the Gothic splendour of the Deep South. Characters and landscapes are conjured into life with powerful immediacy. Capote's words shimmer on the page, and I soon found myself hearing what I read in a luxuriant southern American drawl. This is a novel to be savoured for its ambitious, exuberant language, and it flows over the imagination like thick rounded syrup.

Read this, and immerse yourself in the mystical world of America's Deep South...
22 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2012
I am not a big fan of Truman Capote as a person, just as today Stephen Fry annoys the hell out of me; BUT they both can write and have a style that is interesting and holds your attention. This tale is obviously based muchly on Capotes early life, or what he might want us to believe although it wasnt until much later in his life that he addimtted this. It is intruiging, clever, full of characters all of whom are memorable and does make me want to read some of his other titles. It doesn't make me appreciate the man himself anymore, but that is a personal reflection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
This is a beautifully crafted work. At first I thought the extensive descriptive passages might get tiresome, but you are completely immersed in the world of these people. The themes of the novel are so daring and yet presented wonderfully.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2016
Beautifully written book. Disappointing ending but really enjoyed it. Chosen by our book club
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
I was persuaded to read this by a friend on the grounds that if I loved "To Kill a Mockingbird" I would love this. Well, unfortunately it wasn't to be. I could not get into this book and ended up skimming large parts of it. I can see why others might enjoy it due, for example, to the long descriptive passages, but they were the very reason it wasn't for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2016
A joy to savour
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse