Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Scoop
  • Customer reviews

Scoop
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 August 2017
A bit of a curate's egg, possibly because Waugh was trying too hard to be acerbi and a lot seems somewhat dated. But there are some flashes of real wit..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2017
Can see why this is a classic. Brillant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2017
Faintly amusing - good to finish it!

Satire no longer subtle - times and critics change beyond our wildest expectation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2017
Enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 July 2005
Waugh is both appreciated and reviled for much the same qualities. The same caustic wit and social observation that sliced through the ridiculous class structure of his time also brought a flippancy and 'carelessness' which in our politically correct age reads uncomfortably.
Scoop is a classic example, essentially involving a mix up in the assignment of a plum overseas journalism posting to cover the Ishmalian civil war. This is written in the age of Goebbels and Stalin, and so it is no surprise to see that the power of the press is essentially responsible for destabilizing the otherwise unassuming African state. Where the journalists decide there is a story, a story will exist. Is it really that different today?
Waugh uses his social observation skills to almost ludicrous extremes, with portraits of Lord Copper, Boot of the Beast and the other journalists in the pack being both ghastly and stunningly incompetent. The novel retains its comic touch, although has dated slightly more than some of Waugh's other works. Essentially many of the caustic barbs would be more suited to an age familiar with the excesses of Beaverbrook and Rothermere.
This is essentially classic Waugh, and thus should be approached with a little prior knowledge of his style. If you like him, you'll love this - I devoured it in a day.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2013
The novel is excellent but the numerous misprints irritate. By the end, I had got used to having to substitute 'the' for 'die' almost invariably.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
I could hardly believe the social situation and racism of the time. It may upset some people in its language but it just shows how far we ve come
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 September 2015
Deary me, there are some overly touchy people reviewing this book. It's a very, very funny book. If you think it's racist, you really should leave the house more often.....mingle with human beings, see things, partake in a physical activity.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2017
A Ross has provided the full review I might have written, so I'll just back him up. This book is an amusing farce, but totally lacking in depth of characterisation. If you want deep, from about the same period, try "Tender is the Night" by F. Scott Fitzgerald.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2016
Decided it was time to read a book by this author. For me the 'humour' was silly and the racist language offensive. The plot was clever but the mix up of characters was tedious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse