Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
33
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2016
It's like something created by Bowie's / Dury's songwriting method of jotting random thoughts down on bits of paper and then, months later, combining them to make nonsense lyrics. I persevered - I really tried, but I just gave up after the first 50 or so pages because there's no substance, no thread, and in some cases, absolutely nothing to bind a page's contents with its neighbours. Contextually and logically it jumps about as if someone dropped the proofs and reassembled them in the wrong order while they were on the way to the printer.

Given how people rave about this book, I have to assume it's just me, but I've met drunks in the pub who were made more sense.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2012
coming from a former British colony I found this book to be a great read. I believe every person from a former colony should read this book to understand how terrible the colonists were.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
Fast postage product as described , thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2002
It was said that fanon was the voice of rebellion, which echoed upon Europe. This book gives you an insight into the power of hate that erupts because of racial prejudice. Throughout this book you will feel the clanging of the chains of slavery, you will feel the subdued screams of centuries of absolute misery. You will feel in awe of the calamity brought upon humanity by Europe's colonialist mindset. But most of all you will hear within it the sounds of a dawning freedom. For those of you, who are bearing the demons of the new kind of slavery called Capitalism, this book will give you an insight into the mindset that is behind global Capitalism. It will give you the hints of the rot and demise within the newly freed society and the covert form of repression that follows such emancipations.
This book is a journey not for the weak hearted. An evocative, book with one of the best preface, by Sartre.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2015
It's not an easy read, but nothing worth reading is!

Fanon uses incredibly poetic language in describing the position of the colonised and his disgust for the oppressor. He offers great insight to the condition of the colonised person, and how it seeps into every part of your life.

I have quoted Fanon in many of my academic essays, and I can imagine that the more you read this book, the more in unveils and reveals dependent on the situation of 'today'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
Superb book. Absolutely essential reading for socialists involved in national/international struggle.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
What I've always liked the most about Fanon (and this book) is the beautiful and impassioned way he puts his arguments across. I've used this text in many academic essays and will continue to do so as I think it is truly groundbreaking. A must read for anyone interested in the discourses of colonialism and colonisation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
Fanon is insightful and notes the key factors that maintain settler dominance in his account of colonisation. Great read, fast pace and rewarding to read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2016
Speedy delivery, well packaged. This book is a very important contribution to the notion of decolonising and a great look at post colonial identity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2010
it is a good insight into the minds of the oppressor and the oppressed. The understanding can be the basis for negotiating and making peace.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)