Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 4 December 2017
Classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2017
Classic Steinbeck! One of my favourite writers still!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2017
Very pleased with purcahase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2014
I found the writing lacked description and there were times that I did not believe he was undertaking the journey at all. If he experienced this trip for real his descriptions would have been more involved.
He lists place after place with no genuine portrayal of the town or people. They were all flat on the page. He did not even give them nick names. Steinbeck’s itinerary is often hard to follow, no dates and throws in travels to Dorset and Prague totally irrelevant to what I was reading
I had the impression he limited himself to a maximum of 25 words to describe each day. His relationship with his dog Charley was not one I could any way identify with having been a dog owner over the years. To me all may have been written from within his Rocinante with the help of newspapers and TV footage onto which he put his own slant
When I read a travel log it has to make me want to trace their steps. This did not do this nor did I fall for Charley
The unlikely pilgrimage of Harold Fry was more realistic
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2001
I have read most of the works of this great writer and this book game me a greater understanding of the man himself. He sets out, with only Charley his dog for company, to travel parts of America and meet Americans. Not the great and wealthy but the ordinary people the rest of us can identify with. As usual his gift for words makes, what in other writers hands would seem dull and uninteresting, come to life. There is no great adventure here, just details of the revealing conversations he has with people he meets along his travels. Descriptions of the places he passes through. These reveal more of the man himself and I can more understand now how he came to write his great novels Grapes of Wrath etc. In short he had a great love of the greatness to be found in the ordinary masses and an understanding of the failings too. If you read this book, which is not a novel but still one you will regret finishing, you can understand how the man could write, with love and understanding. about pimps, prostitutes,tramps and down and out's as he did in cannery row etc. In short he had a great feel for all humanity and the reader is better for knowing him
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2015
I have to be honest, I love John Steinbeck, I don't care what nobody sez, notatall, those charges of casual racism or whatever over 'Tortilla Flats', those charges of sensationalism or whatever over 'Grapes of Wrath', whether or not 'To A God Unknown' or whatever that one was called is a bit mystical or esoteric or something, I really don't care. No one could hope to touch him these days, not many those days, read 'The Chrysanthemums' and come back unaffected and I'll put you down myself, read 'East of Eden', 'Of Mice and Men', read bleeding 'Cannery Row'. Not just better than anything but better than nothing: true praise.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2013
Steinbeck received the Nobel prize around the time this book was published....so I had my hopes up this would be a good read, but am very disappointed. The quality of his writing almost constantly on a low,bland,even boring,cold, detached, with some highs of beautiful observation thrown in, which made me sigh: he should have cared a little more. The inconsistency of his style made for a lack of flow, and his philosophical ideas are, quite frankly, not very interesting. Steinbeck does not come out on a personal level - o.k., but then stick to it, no need to suddenly throw in a few heart warming lines that make the rest unengaged narration even more annoying. Pity, I didn't learn anything about the American soul or country....I learned to actually dislike Steinbeck in his lack of passion, his lack of connection, be it with his dog Charley, the Americans or their country....I don't trust him on this account of Americans and America, which was vivid only in rare parts of the books...will take me a while to try another Steinbeck!
Why three stars? Nice hard cover with lovely illustration, therefore doesn't go into the bin but to charity, where someone else may get the book for less....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2016
One of my favorite books, real life travel story of John Steinbeck and his blue French poodle, beautifully written and worth a read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)