Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
222
4.3 out of 5 stars
The Road to Wigan Pier (Penguin Modern Classics)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 August 2017
George Orwell has an uncanny knack of getting to the bottom of the thoughts and feelings of the working classes with whom he came into contact.Growing up in a mining village surrounded by poorly paid miners, I was fully aware of the stalwart spirit and the innate good nature and ever present sense of humour throughout the communities. In fact I think it is this that kept them functioning through their daily travails.It is this that which Orwell captures so beautifully.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
Should have ordered this year's ago. Lovely copy, numerous photos, being born just a few months before the original publication in the townships Orwell describes it brings home the poverty and misery I too witnessed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
It's Orwell, I am totally incapable of picking fault with this mans work.
Glad he's not still around to see how so many governments are using his work as blueprints for running their countries!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
The first half is a great piece of participant journalism with Orwell's experience of living in the North and his description of the mine. The second half is a pamphlet of arguments that are a bit outdated but occasionally strike the age old problem of the left: how to communicate to the very people you are trying to help.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2017
Where is our contemporary Orwell? Writers brave enough to step outside their comfortable lives and experience a world at odds with their upbringing are few and far between?

Orwell is brutally honest and admits his prejudice towards the working class, then immerses himself in his search to find out how class divides us!

His bewilderment at Socialist "food cranks" and "sandal wearers" is often amusing from our modern perspective.

All the same this is essential reading, still thought provoking, and throws up questions and problems which we still haven't fully solved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2017
First class's book well written. It is hard to imagine how people suffered the hardships of the twenties and thirties. Many miners out of work . How would we survive in modern times, without the everyday items we have now. Well worth reading if you do enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
Very interesting book as to be expected from George Orwell. However my kindle version is full of typos and punctuation mistakes so rather annoying.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2017
Interesting analysis of inter-war social circumstance in working glass/unemployed Britain. Well composed but occasionally Orwell labours the point to repetition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Definitely a book of two halves. First half fascinating, second half rather tedious, repetitive and showing Orwell's prejudices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2017
Orwell's The Road to Wigan Pier is a fantastic book. One can't but notice striking similarities to the present day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse