Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
69
4.5 out of 5 stars
Silent Spring (Penguin Modern Classics)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 July 2014
...if a little depressing! So very interesting though. She was a visionary and unfortunately some of her grim predictions seem to be coming to reality. A must read for all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
Everyone who cares about the environment should read this book and take heed. Although it was written over 30 years ago, its still very true today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2017
As described, arrived on time. Really good book, still relevant, easy read, very interesting with many case studies, bit emotive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
Brilliant! What foresight and so stunningly beautifully written. A real visionary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2011
I borrowed this book from the local library so was aware of its content, but it was not on the library shelves and had to be ordered. As I am concerned about conservation and environmental damage, I decided it would be a useful reference book to keep, so decided to buy a copy. Although written in the 1960s, the warnings are as true today as they were then and this book has a message for everybody. If we don't take care of our world, it will stop taking care of us. This book should be read by everyone, and even if you are not now concerned about the environment, you will be after you have read it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
excellent crucially important seminal book. Must be read by everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2011
for anyone who cares about the fragile biodiversity of our beautiful planet and believes its our responsibilty to address the crimes against nature we have comitted in the past. it's a challenge to remain optimistic, but essential, if anything good is to come out of this book. a tough read in more ways than one, because as well as the depressing characterisation of modern human existence, its fact-laden pages require focus and understanding
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
Revolutionary in its day and still rings bells now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2016
Classic
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
product fine; delivery estimate was met
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)