Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
20
The Psychopathology of Everyday Life (Penguin Modern Classics)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 4 August 2017
A good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2017
Still if not more relevant in today's world where a persons history is often as important in actions relevant to the politics of
world peace and decision making.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2017
I wonder what the author is really trying to argue here and whether or not there is any way of testing the validity of his apparent hypothesis. Nevertheless a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2012
The inconsequential events of everyday life - forgetting names, accidents, slips of the tongue - are given Freud's psychoanalytic treatment in this volume. Freud displays his interpretive genius here more than in any other of his works (even more so than in his 'Interpretation of Dreams', the book most revered by Freud himself and his orthodox followers). Showing a keen eye for spotting the pervasive influence of the omnipotent unconcious, Freud gathers examples from his life (which are of endless fascination with those interested in his life as well as his theories) and in literature in which repressed unconcious desires find expression in the contrivences of everyday life. This book remains for me possibly the most concise, thorough and easy-going introduction to the writings of Sigmund Freud.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2014
excellent book and easy to understand the subject and can help self or others. great value for money. i would recommend this book for reading .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2013
The book is what it is. A good account of what I needed for study. I shall use this as a referrence/guide for my work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2015
The quality of leafs of the book is horrible..I feel so regretful because of purchising this product :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2015
A very interesting read and a great introduction to Freudian ways.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2015
Fantastic! Bigger than anticipated, but no regrets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2015
Freud was such a great pioneer; scientific in spirit and so wonderfully observant of human nature. His self-reflections alone are worthy of praise and respect. And, despite many of his over-arching theories being now superseded by more advanced and accurate psycho-dynamic formulations (of: Bollas; Guntrip; Horney; etc) his observations of the machinations of the personal unconscious are still decidedly relevant. Para-praxis - slips of the tongue and mind, forgetting, bungled actions, etc., - are things we all do and will continue to do as well as continue to learn about ourselves and our patients. A work of such notable standing, it should be naturally residing on the shelves of every psychotherapist. As a guide to practitioners who wish to pursue the continuous mysteries of their own unconscious, too, it is worth it. As a further helpful guide to enhancing the range of the "third ear", a necessary companion. Richard Swatton
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse