Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
113
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2014
What a beautiful place Africa is. The book took me back to Karen Blixen's farm i visited on one of my trips to kenya. She is a wonderful writer, almost poetic. Have enjoyed reading this book and will be reading it again. If you have a kindle i would recommend you download a sample to read before purchase it might not be for everyone.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2016
Loved reading this book whilst on Safari in Africa I finished reading it at home the pictures and images the book creates helped sustain my memories of Africa ,the vastness ,the animals the people and the rainbows on the hills the history ,loved the book Like the author part. of my heart will

.always belong their in Africa
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
read this year& years ago when it first came out but then past it onto a friend and have regretted it ever since and then I saw this i'm really looking forward to being transported to Africa again I can highly recommend this book if you want to immerse yourself into a time long ago in a far off country it's a great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
This really evokes the spirit of the Kenyan landscape and Blixen's tenacious spirit. Her relationship with the locals is well drawn and reflects the time in which the novel is set, so can't really be viewed through a 'post -colonial lense'. The narrative is strong and captivating, and even though Blixen can be irritating at times there is no doubting her strength of character. Having visited her house in Karen recently (yes, they named the town after her) a re-reading of the book only serves to confirm how much she captured something of the spirit of Africa.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
This was an excellent if somewhat sad movie with great acting form both Meryl Streep and Robert Redford. I am looking forward with anticipation to reading the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2002
Through "Out of Africa" Karen Blixen tells Europe of her long stay on a coffee farm outside Nairobi. It is a work of pure romanticism, of an educated and refined young woman who wants to see Africa as her beloved romantic authors of the nineteenth century might have done. I mean romanticism in the proper sense of the word - the conviction that man and nature should be one, that the greatest human fulfilment is in merging with the land, plants and animals around us and becoming one with them.
The book concentrates on the Kenyan landscape and the Africans who people it. She draws romantic and spiritual lessons from the oneness of the Africans with their land. Perhaps some of her commentary on the Kikuyu seems patronising nowadays, but how else could she have written ?
Blixen's style is readable, fluent and anecdotal, making "Out of Africa" an easy read. (Though there are times when her landscape descriptions are a little too purple and her verse, the little of it that she shares, is frankly embarrassing.)
In fact,"Out of Africa" is a rare item - a book about long-term expatriation rather than a "travel book" about a short trip to a glamorous place. So, it's not Blixen's game to be taking colourful incidents out of context and making a song-and-dance about how exotic they are, which is the irritating stock-in-trade of the travel writer. She describes what happens to a person when the exotic becomes commonplace, which is as different from travel-writing as roast beef is from candyfloss.
But Blixen hides herself away too. Many of her preoccupations are merely hinted at : her love for Finch-Hatton, her husband, her strained relationships with other whites and the day-to-day business of the farm. She made the conscious decision that "Out of Africa" should be about the landscape and the Africans that people it, not about Karen Blixen. She moves through the book like a ghost, a shadowy figure in a trench-coat. In this, the book is completely different from the film of "Out of Africa", which is firmly about the life and loves of Karen Blixen, relegating Kenya and its people to the role of background scenery.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
Really enjoyed this book. An interesting insight into the decline of the British Empire. And the book was in excellent condition...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2016
I thought I would enjoy reading this book, but found it very disjointed and boring in parts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2016
Excellent read though some of the language used is, well, different! Though very readable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
well written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse