Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
210
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2017
A classic book, which I discovered after reading a Kindle sample. I only knew "1984" but George Orwell has proved to be more than that. This book is an interesting first-hand account of this war, first from a very personal point of view, and second, through two well thought appendices, about how the author was able to better understand the larger picture later, or realise some misinterpretations or misgivings. It was very interesting as well to see the role of newspapers (at the time) in providing information, spreading "fake news" (nothing new there, sadly) and fanning the fires for the interests of their stakeholders ... This book is not as dated as it might seem, and it is worth reflecting upon in the current times ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2017
I had to buy this again. I was 21 when I read this. Now, I'm 45. I'm a life long socialist and this book sums up perfectly how the left always fights itself more than the opposition. This is the book I always quote whenever the left turns in on itself (which is always!.) "My cause is more important than your cause etc." is pretty much the left. 70 odd years later, it's still the same lol. UK Labour party..are you watching! Classic book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Classic history of Spanish Civil War written before it finished. . It makes it clear that when we think of it as facist versus Communist we have got it wrong. At this distance and without a background study the political complexities are difficult to follow. BUT the story of one man caught up in revolution and the day to day events of life at the front line make engrossing reading and this edition has taken the two chapters explaining the political complexities and turned them into appendices.
In the light of the recent events at the G6 in Germany its worth being reminded that the Anarchists, who are not Communists; were at the heart of the Spanish Government.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2016
Orwell's account of his time fighting in the Spanish civil war shows the futility of war and how those who would seem to be friends on the same side quickly descend into blame tactics and war amongst themselves for position. Wars can never be won if you are also warring with yourself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2017
Did not appeal to me as much as some of his other books. All rather depressing really.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
A great read and George Orwell's appendices give an understandable picture of how confusing the political situation was for the Government side in the Spanish Civil War.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Recently I was travelling around Barcelona and took this book with me, what a great companion to a Catalonian adventure. Orwell remains so relevant to this day, and despite the relative age of the book it remains an easy and joyful read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2017
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
A very different book to his novels. An interest to all history fans. An interesting account of the 1930s. Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
good story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse