Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
300
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2014
The subject is a No no, but Nabokov's dark and brilliant word mongering somehow transcends the subject. Any one who has deep and hidden passions, not related to this subject but for any complex feeling, can relate to Humbert humbert and his emotion driven mania, totally out of his own control, leading him to despair and finally total personal destruction. English was his 3rd or 4th Language, a true genius. If you love words rather than a base story line and have never read Nabokov, then pick up any of his books, maybe starting with the Nabokov's Dozen of short stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
This a beautifully written book, maybe because the author's native language is not English he has taken extra care over it.

However, it is also the most sordid, depraved book I have ever read. If you have any qualms about child sex, read no further. I have two daughters (luckily they have no stepfather) if either of them had been led astray in the way Dolores / Lolita was I would, too, have killed him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
This is a book about a truly horrible subject, paedophilia; however Nabokov managed to turn the subject in a literary masterpiece. Nevertheless expect to be chilled to your bones by the subject matter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
An old classic, but out of period can promote a stronger reaction than it should. I feel the reader should keep the period in context and enjoy an interesting examination of human emotions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
As an open-minded person there are several strong reasons as to why I consider this book one of my favourites and would recommend it to any other open-minded person interested in humanity, psychology, morality, society etc:
- It is uncomfortable; for me personally, anything that can push boundaries successfully deserves credit.
- It's thought provoking and offers a completely different perspective, one which many I doubt will have previously considered.
- It has the potential to change the way a reader views the subjects involved in the book.
It's one of those books I couldn't put down until I'd finished it yet it was so good I didn't want it to end! I would recommend this book to any open-minded, mature reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
I liked the beginning, which was a joy to read but after that it just got quite boring. Thought it was more padded than it really needed to be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
The first half of the book is incredible. Straight off the bat the discriptions are so elegant, so perfectly, beautifully, discriptive without becoming obtusely loquacious that you could easily be mistaken for believing that English was Nabokov's native tongue. In fact far from it, and his afterword mentions that his one regret was that he hadn't written the book "untrammelled" in his mother language. The "protagonist" if he can be called that is the most sympathetic monster since Frankenstein's, all the more so because far from being part man, part monster, Humbert is all man, all monster, meaning that you relate, assent even to the beast who oozes charm and bile all at once, and will have you smiling and giggling darkly from one minute, and shaking your head in genuine disgust the next. The story will take you on a mental journey, and it takes some fluidity to keep up, but it's almost totally worth it.
My one caveat is that the second half is too long, and the charm of the characters begin to fade as the story loses some of it's centre while it focuses, not on development, but on meandering in terms of story and language. It's beauty fades with age, the true disappointment of this book is that is begins so absolutely 'fine' that in comparison the third quarter of the book seems so lazily diffuse as to actually grate on the reader.
In spite of there being more book than needed the actual quality of writing and characters rarely, if ever, wavers, and because Nabokov's standard is so, so diamond, it still has a place in my heart as a worthy and irresistable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
Enchanting, amazing use of the written word, if you don't speak French you may struggle as it is peppered with French Phases.Can't add more to what has been said in my top 3 classic books of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
A fascinating work I'd read a long time ago.
Puzzling in parts especially in today's 'climate'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
It's an interesting book to say the least. It does a good job of capturing Humbert's love and total devotion to Lolita without too heavily obscuring the wrongness of it. The subtleties of his abuse bleed through the pages and make this a very disturbing yet beautifully composed read.
The language Nabokov uses is a bit complex at times. Thank goodness for Kindle, which has a built in dictionary for all the words I'd never heard before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse