Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
48
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2000
This little book has a vast treasury of poems of the first World War. All my favourites could be found, Siegfried Sassoon, Wilfred Owen, Robert Graves, Rupert Brooke and many others, totalling over 80 poems in all.
A very readable book, bringing back memories of poems read long ago. The scenes described are evocative, harrowing, heart-warming. Be prepared to be brought to tears.
I would highly recommend this book for any bookshelf and it is particularly appropriate as an introduction to war poetry.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2017
Excellent product. Prompt delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2017
very small print!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2016
Looking forward to next year,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
This is a pleasant little book, small enough to fit into a pocket or a handbag. It has many of the old favourites in it and some new poems that I hadn't read before. Excellent value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2011
A pocket-sized book which brings together a lot of my favourite war poems including Wilfred Owen's "Anthem For Doomed Youth", Siegfried Sassoon's "Enemies", Edward Thomas's "The Owl" and Issac Rosenberg's "Break Of Day In The Trenches". It introduced me to other poems I warmed to but had not read before including May Wedderburn Cannan's "Lamplight", Margaret Postgate Cole's "The Veteran" and Ivor Gurney's "To His Love". I enjoy the scattering of poems with seemingly no logical order - it encourages random opening to discover new and old pearls.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2009
A little disappointed with this book as it is basically a pocket sized very basic book. If you wanted a book to slip in your jacket pocket, then great, but the title led me to expect more than this.
A random organisation of contents also disappoints.
A couple of obvious ommissions. Laurence BINYON's "For the fallen" being the most obvious.
A small pocket sized book ideal for a journey, but not likely to stretch the academic amongst you.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Such a sad book, cannot thank those young men enough , so very young, so very brave and for what if we don't heed the message and learn,we must never forget and this book helps us to know there is a better way.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
This is a great little book - very small in size and wish it had been just a little larger for my ageing eyes!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
This small volume is just right for my pocket and so is available for random selection. Great collection of poems and good price. Thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse