Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
42
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2011
A fantastic account. I thought this book was passionately written and a delight to read from cover to cover. The first hand accounts and personal stories kept me fascinated. It would appeal to many more people than those just interested in Military History as the human stories are incredible.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 September 2014
The attraction for both this book and also A Bridge Too Far is that my Uncle passed away in May this year. He is pictured on the cover of this book in action. He is also in " A Bridge Too Far " but only on the Hardback copy. They are both stunning books and a really great supplement alongside the movie of the latter book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Lloyd Clark's "Arnhem" and Robert Kershaw's "It never snows in September" it is not, but the authors have created a very human story from what was an excuriatingly difficult military action for those who served in it.

Some say that books "compiled" from veterans' memories and under the guise of honouring those who were there represents lazy history on the part of the given author. Perhaps in certain instances that may be true, but not here - Nichol and Rennell have created a brilliantly vivid picture of the endeavour which is very easy to follow and, is as far I can tell, as factually accurate as its possible to be in the context of such a fluid and confused action. They also successfully place into context the travails of the XXX Corp's intended "Blitzkrieg" and credit is given where it is due, despite the fact that Market Garden must be considered a costly (but most definitely heroic) failure. Rennell and Nichol have achieved an excellent synethsis of the factual and the human, and have created a very readable and informative book as a result.

So why only four stars? Two reasons:

1) I personally like my history to be a little bit denser and so what is missing for me is more of the background of why Market Garden was undertaken in the first place.(This book really only covers the Arnhem "experience"). Was it really about Monty's ego as some attest? or was Market Garden a plausible war winning strategy? Was the failure of a (possibly) good idea simply the a result of bad planning? Or a combination of all three? Did Eisenhower simply "give in" to Monty or did he see clear vitues in the attempt? I came away from the book having really enjoyed their treatment of the element of Market Garden which was Arnhem, but I was in the end unsure on the Authors' opinions on the bigger picture conundrums associated with the failure of the operation as a whole.

2)The second reason for a dropped star is simply that I would have liked the book to have been rounded out from the German perspective too...

In conclusion though, I strongly recommend this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2012
One of the most gripping and readable books I've ever read. The story of Arnhem is immaculately told mostly from the viewpoint of those who took part.
However if you're after a book about Op Market Garden as a whole then this isn't it as its just about Arnhem BUT I would still recommend it to be read alongside any book covering the whole OP.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
Best book I read of 2012 for me. Vivid insight with the use of eye witness passages from veteran's; written with passion and sympathetic understanding. Does not "big up" war, but shows the human spirit in abundance. You can tell that John Nichol has been in combat.

FAA 801 (retired)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
Just a collection of personal recollections, some of which are second or even third hand. This shouldn't detract from the import of those testimonies, just a criticism of the authors who have cashed in on MARKET GARDEN.

Go elsewhere for real history.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
This is a fabulous account of one of the most hard fought and uncompromising battles of World War two. The British soldiers and pilots gave no quarter in their ill fated attempt to hold the Arnhem bridge,and fought to the last. This is a superbly written book on this ill fated mission,
Highly recommended !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
I've read a lot of books on The fighting at Arnhem and the oosterbeek perimeter, but this is by far the best in my opinion, the majority of the book is made up of first hand accounts from the brave men that fought here and the brave Dutch civilians who helped them in any way they could, a fantastic read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 September 2012
This is another collection of the now familiar first hand accounts and anecdotes from a seminal event in World War II. It adds nothing to the knowledge already published. The stories are already familiar. Where the author intervenes, he immediately falls into error - for example, the gilder pilot who "drew his revolver, a Colt automatic". Ho hum.

First hand accounts of well know battles are currently very popular. This just jumps on the bandwaggon.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
I have just read the true story of what happened from a soldier's perspective,which was a shock to hear that it wasn't the great victory I had been led to believe it was.
A great book for anybody who seeks the truth about ww 2
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here