Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
94
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2010
This is an memorable evocation of a life, in my opinion the best William Boyd book so far. The characterisation rings true at every turn. John James Todd is a particularly masterful creation; I found myself simultaneously cringing and profoundly empathising with Todd's inability to control his self-destructive impulses. Boyd also creates a great sense of location atmosphere, I particularly enjoyed the Berlin and Hollywood scenes. A must read book!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
Not one of his best.Someone said a novel has a start and an end with a muddle in the middle,and this was one of those! Also the Rousseau theme did not work.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 April 2012
This epic novel is the fictitious life story, from birth to old age, of a typically Boyd-ian character. It is written in the first person, mostly focussing on episodes from the past, with an ongoing story set in the character's present (1970s) interspresed throughout. I found it similar to Boyd's later novel, Any Human Heart, in terms of its style and scope, although his protagonist here and his life events are sufficiently different. It's certainly ambitious in scope, taking in a wide variety of settings and scenarios.

The central character is one you'd often like to reach into the page and shake, so frustrating are some of his decisions, but he is all the more realistic for it. Whilst the storyline is far-fetched, Boyd has a skill for making the extraordinary seem ordinary and real. It's also an interesting look at a diverse range of areas, from the Western Front to the film industry. Some of the storylines and characters seem underdeveloped, and the central character has a rather implausible number of romantic liaisons, but overall it's a reasonable enough story and told with Boyd's usual flair and skill.

That said, it's a long book and perhaps could have done with a slightly tougher edit, but despite that I did enjoy reading it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 1999
Picaresque is the word I guess - a loose amble through the twentieth century, but at the same time utterly gripping - variously comic, philosophical, moving... for me, it turned me back on to British fiction after a disillusioned separation of several years. When I finished the book, I felt I'd lost a friend....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Not yet read this book but as it is written by William Boyd I know it will be good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2004
I struggle with some of Boyd's writing - but find the two quasi-autobiographical novels (Any Human Heart and The New Confession) truly outstanding.
They both take you on a rampage across the 20th Century - but whilst based on a similar premise are utterly different.
In this case the lead character is fascinating, flawed and disturbingly like many people you know in his ability to make the wrong decision at each moment of truth.
I am impressed with Boyd's ability to design fictitious lives in such detail - it really makes you feel as if he is a biographer who has researched his subject for years.
Impossible to put down. Truly excellent.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2007
The New Confessions has similarities to Any Human Heart, encompassing as it does a man's life from boyhood through to old age. The main difference is that while Any Human Heart unfolded contemporaneously in the form of a journal or diary, The New Confessions is written retrospectively - an old man looking back on his life, remembering the highs and lows.

The story is as gripping as any of Boyd's novels, largely due to Boyd's immense talent in imbuing the ordinary with rivetting, magnetic fascination. The ordures of public school initiation, the fierceness of first love (or crush), the passions, terrors, obsessions and regrets of any life, are magnified and captured with breath-catching aplomb. Boyd is one of the few writers - Updike, Ishiguro and McEwan also spring to mind- who can make the reader giggle uncontrollably one minute and in the next reel from some gut-wrenchingly vivid drama.

The New Confessions follows John James Todd from his childhood in Edinburgh, under the care of his austere surgeon father and his sharp-witted and idiosyncratic nanny Oonagh , through schooldays and friendship with the mathematical child prodigy Hamish Malahide, to adulthood with all its attendant thwarted dreams, shocking traumas and rich relationships. John James may be selfish and self-centred - SPOILER: not only is he serially unfaithful to his long-suffering wife Sonia, but he has the cheek to hire a private investigator to see if she herself is being unfaithful; not only does he repeatedly chastise his older brother Thompson in his autobiography for being uncaring, but he manipulates Thompson into arranging a bank loan on which he subsequently defaults, and makes a pass at Thompson's wife; not only does he fail to ask others about their problems or lives but he witters endlessly about his own talent; not only does he cruelly note all physical flaws in his wife and brother but he deludedly comments to himself on his own good looks. Yet despite these glaring faults, John James is also funny, articulate, intelligent and a compelling character to read about. He is passionate about his career, his friends and his one true love. And Boyd's novel transports you in a hypnotised daze through all these beautifully drawn characters and events and manages to be sharp, witty, touching, devastating and gorgeously written at the same time. Another classic from one of our top five living British authors.
11 Comment| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2015
Enough information is provided in the formal Description and the accompanying reviews for the potential reader to decide whether to purchase this volume. For this reason I will confine my remarks to just two wartime incidents experienced by the protagonist, Todd, in the story.

The first happens at the end of Chapter 16 when visiting an old school friend, Hamish, who is then (1944) a mathematician involved in making and breaking codes at a US government department attached to Princeton University, where refugee talent from Europe has migrated. Hamish introduces Todd to one of the senior staff, Kurt, who is an admirer of the films Todd made in Berlin. This is in fact a reference to Kurt Godel, a famous mathematician responsible for the Incompleteness Theorem (1931). This was the mathematical equivalent of detonating an atom bomb in the world of mathematical logic. To be very brief it states that in any system of arithmetic based on a consistent set of axioms, there are truths which can be EXPRESSED within the system but which cannot be PROVED using that system. (Any reader who is interested can find out more from Wikipedia).

The second incident occurs immediately afterwards in Chapter 17 where Todd himself is on his way to the Mediterranean (as a camera man/journalist) to report on the American Invasion of St Tropez on the French Coast. I found this quite interesting because I was at College in London in the summer of 1944 when on 6th of June the D-day landings on the Normandy beaches took place. These clearly overshadowed the later St. Tropez invasion on 16th August.

The British clearly thought this unnecessary because it diverted both British and American forces from pushing north into Italy. Indeed it was a point of dispute between Churchill/Montgomery and Roosevelt/Eisenhower.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
With every Boyd book I read, I come to admire and enjoy his work all the more. This is a powerful and strongly-drawn novel, the story of one man's life, yet also the story of so much of the 20th century. I was engrossed for over 500 pages, and once finished, the book and Todd's life stayed with me for days - hauntingly, but in a good way. Not a likeable man, and really rather unlucky (which he sometimes brought on himself), but despite that, the narrative is absolutely compelling, and wonderfully enjoyable.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2001
The strength of Boyd's imagery is so strong, that it leaves a very deep imprint on the readers mind.
You feel like John James Todd takes you on a journey through the 20th Century - from the horror and darkness of the First World War trenches, to the glamour and grime of Hollywood. The storytelling is superbly paced and peaked - a rollercoaster ride of emotions. But this is only taking the book at face value. The New Confessions is actually a book of a film within a book - with a highly accomplished mirroring of Jean Jacques Rousseau's The Confessions. Boyd has not only succeeded in updating the characters and action from one of the most highly regarded pieces of literature of all time, he has in many ways surpassed it.
I cannot recommend this highly enough - it is not an overstatement to call reading this book a life changing experience. You will not want it to end and will go back again, time and again.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse