Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
576
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2016
Absolutely loved this book. Its the 2nd time I've read it, I love how in her novels there is sometimes factual history. Loved the main character I was with her all the way. There no heavy violence or graphic sex scene just good writing descriptions and fantastic story telling.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2015
Lesley Pearse's attention to detail never ceases to amaze me. Her meticulous research on 19th-century America has resulted in a really captivating tale of a young Victorian flower seller who, despite her humble background, moves across the Atlantic and climbs out of poverty through sheer hard work.

I'm very eager to work my way through Lesley's back catalogue as she is one of my favourite writers. This is the 11th book of hers I have read, and I would say that this is probably one of her best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
This was a page turner from start to finish. The characters are believable and the author's depiction of historical events were made real and she painted a vivid picture which had me hooked from beginning to end. A lovely read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
I love all Lesley Pearse books but some reviews are about a totally different book, this book is mainly written around three female characters Daisy and half sisters Ellen and Josie it is set mainly in 1950, 1960 up to 1990,the title father unknown is rather insignificant as he is in only one chapter,but you will find this book unputdownable .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
Really good read and will not disappoint Lesley Pearse fans or anyone new to the author. Lots of historic content and shows well researched. Look forward to the next book.......
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
Just finished this book couldn't put it down where does Lesley get all the info how the other half lived then?? Many thanks I just love the individual stories you manage to bring to us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2017
Five stars for an entertaining exciting read which kept me guessing to the end
Really enjoy lesley Pearse books both for the historical content and nicely woven stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2012
Loved this book. A big fan of Lesley Pearse,I downloaded this one and was hooked within a couple of chapters. Cleverly written and with some twists and turns I had not expected - this shows that even when one has ready many of this writer's books she can still surprise. I had various plots and endings in mind when I started this, and was wrong which was a nice surprise. Would definitely recommend it - I always feel that Lesley's novels must be incredibly well researched. Absolute respect for this lady.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
I really enjoyed this L/ p book ,her vivid and detailed descriptive way of writing kept me reading on , I could picture many of the scenes throughout the book .
Matilda the main character was made up of very stern stuff .
Don't believe in long reviews it puts you off reading the book !!!!!
This book or worth reading. Enjoy ,,,,,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
Good story line very intriguing could not put this book down. A good read and would definitely recommend. On the edge of your seat story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here