Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
52
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2015
Inspiring book about a group of steady and vigilant investors who decided to go about things in their own way. Affirms my truth in life; if you want to succeed, step away from the influence of others and listen to your intuitive, inner perspective of things. It will always serve you with no hidden agendas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2011
The Greatest Trade on Earth succeeds, like Andrew Ross Sorkin's tome "Too Big to Fail" in making a difficult and complex subject relatively accessible by writing it in the format of a novel.

That said, it could have majored more on the background and some of the complex derivatives and investments involved at the expense of irrelevant deep biographical background on some of the minor "characters" involved. Equally, Zuckerman omits detail where it was required towards the end, such as with his investing strategies after the Great Trade.

If, like me, you suspected that trouble was brewing from unsustainable consumer borrowing in the mid noughties, then the book will resonate well. If you are looking for an account of the credit crunch, try Too Big to Fail or Masters of Nothing before tacking this one as it will make more sense.

All in all though, it is still an informative and compelling read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Basically everything here said by both professional and 'Amazon' reviewers is an accurate assessment of and an historical record of the events leading to a small unconnected group of somewhat dysfunctional individuals making wholly obscenely massive profits out of what when stripped down to bare essentials were simple insurance transactions.

Yes, these guys were bright opportunists that under cover of the leading bankers and insurers crass stupidity, quietly and determinely went about accumulating vast wealth albeit at an horrendous cost to many, many millions of ordinary investors and creating a great swathe of job losses.

No, it is not possible to love them. They acted solely out of the desire to make fortunes in a bid to parade themselves as economic geniuses without any regard for the negative consequences on others.

Not to be held up as role models.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
Would recommend this book to anyone with an interest of financial markets. Chronicling what was the greatest trade ever and a wonderful insight into the dangers and instability of the financial world. Superb book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2011
A great book which tells you so much about what actually went wrong with the financial system through the device of the point of view of an insider who foresaw the massive pitiful fallacy of the whole property bubble situation.

I have read other books and watched TV docs about the cause of the financial crash, but this book gave something so much more. Seen through the eyes of a group of independent thinking mavericks who followed their hunches, it reveals sharply the mass idiocy of the deluded greedy financial industry herd. You get a real feel for the way the worst kind of greed and herd instinct led the banks etc stampeding to make easy money from a property bubble. You also get a feel for how hard and stressful and patient you had to be to follow your own convictions when you knew you were right, while the financial establishment with their useless complex risk models and toxic complex risk reducing financial instruments were SO wrong. Made me angry a bit and made me think that these complex products should be licensed or rationed or something. Moral hazard / state picking up the risk etc.

Perhaps the book focuses too much on the personal back-rounds of the main charactors? I admire these charactors, but I do not know whether I would like some of them that much? But they are very rich now so what would they care! Anyhow, I can definitely see a film being made about this story as it is such a good device through which to see the wider collective mania.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
A really intricate subject simplified, A difficult subject to develop tension particularly when everyone knows the outcome,
Well done I shall look at the Frackers with interest.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
A great but very scary book. A lot of egos a lot of burn out and a lot of show offs. A great read but I still feel halve of Wall Street should be put up against a wall and s........
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
This book is enjoyable, doesn't go too deep into the technicals which is a plus I think. I'm in the trade so can't say too much for fear of offending clients.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
I wholeheartedly endorse this book for its fascinating detail and interesting story. A great investment in knowledge and a few days well spent reading it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
Like the title says, an interesting read about profiting from the financial collapse. Well written and easy to understand. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)