Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
36
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 12 December 2013
I have a background in Neuroscience, so I was looking for a book that introduce me to the world of Finance, so I could understand exactly what is going on in the news and such…

This book is perfect, extremely well written, I was so engrossed that I couldn't put it down.

It starts by broadly covering finance history (focusing more on recent history 40s onwards etc.), then going on to explain money and interest rates, banks and building societies, investment banks, the bank of england's role and function, the money markets, borrowers, investment institutions, hedge funds and private equity, shares, international bond market, insurance, risk management, foreign exchange and personal finance.

If you've read any micro/macro economic textbooks, you can probably skip through a few chapters here and there, but if you want a simple but detailed book on financial assets, this book gives a good grounding on all areas and will help you to read more advanced material.

Definitely buy if you're remotely interested in Finance and don't really understand all the different types of Financial institutions and their 'products'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
Was recommended as a primer for an MBA Corporate Finance module and is a brilliant text. Accessible but to the point - a very easy way to ground your knowledge on how the City works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
Lovely book and interesting to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2017
Excellent insight into the city of London and the financial markets. Extremely readable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2010
Still not completed but so far so good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2001
This book is a must for anyone new to financial markets, and particularly to the City of London.
It describes the history of finance in the City and how the different markets came about, what they're about, and how government policy shaped the competitive and busy financial centre that it is now.
This book isn't an in-depth study of the markets, and its easy style will appeal to anyone wishing to gain an insight into what makes the City tick.
I read this book 3 years after I started working in financial IT, and I wished I'd read it much sooner.
Buy it for your train journey.
11 Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
The book is written in understandable language with any jargon fully explained. To aid the reader understand some of the topics covered the author includes many examples showing the reasoning behind much of the decisions made within the system by all parties involved. As you read through the book the author links each topic covered to how that subject material played a part in the financial crisis (2007-2009). This book is for anyone who is even slightly curious into how the city works and what all the economic newspaper columns are talking about. This book is also useful if you wish to highlight your bank manager's weakness in knowing his subject matter should you ever meet him/her.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
This is a fantastic introduction to and overview of the UK economy and how the various elements interconnect and influence each other (interest rates, shares, bonds, equities etc.). Unlike many similar guides, this books is eminently readable and enjoyable for the economics novice. I would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a crash course introduction.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2010
Firstly, I have to say that the book is for "outsider" of banking world (as I am) to grab basic understanding about it. And it does this successfully. Its writing is clear, its analysis (sometimes with examples) is enjoyable. It very well tells you how financial concepts move around the city and the world, work together in a whole system. And little nonsense philosophy. However, there are some (although very few) places, the author seemed forget explaining some concepts.
It does not at all work your brain hard so you can read it on your way to work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2016
This book provides a clear and concise depiction of essential basic knowledge of the financial system.

I particularly liked how the author did not assume one knew lots about the 'City' (as many other books do) and so took the time to explain the fundamentals before delving in to more in depth descriptions.

An essential if you're thinking of joining a profession that requires knowledge of the financial system.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse