Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
471
4.4 out of 5 stars
Outliers: The Story of Success
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 July 2017
Hooked from day one, was not familiar with the author and now I understand why he keeps hitting home runs, every book is a best seller, cannot put it down.
The prose is marvellous, the stories are compelling and the learning experience makes of the reading a superbly enjoyable experience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2017
Although the author Tries to make you look twice at what you thought were life's predestinations, it does so by choosing very precise close space situations and drawing conclusions from them. I would normally say it is dangerous to draw a universal law of things from such a finite number of observations.

In any case, I definitely recommend it, it makes you at least consider if the way we "select" our elite is at all random; And if we are, in fact, predispositioning some individuals to rise over others by an injust selection process.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
Educational. Shows very clearly how peoples' stories and statistics can be so misinterpreted. Also throws a different light on the factors that contribute to success. I shall say no more as it would spoil the surprises.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
pretty interesting study of why some things or people are outliers and his you have to look beyond the obvious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Thoroughly impressive. Gladwell writes wonderfully and highlights the perhaps unlikely backstories of people and events we write off and successful. Very readable and throughly recommended. I can't think of a single person who wouldn't benefit from this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2017
Interesting, thought provoking and easy to read but also feels a little facile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2017
First half of book much better that the disappointing second half.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
given as a gift and was well appreciated
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2017
As a fan of Malcolm Gladwells 'revisionist history' podcast I decided to give outliers a go, and it didn't disappoint, I can't recommend it highly enough
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2017
Absolutely loved Outliers! Very well written and with so many fascinating points. I want to read it again to make sure I picked them all up! (Be aware that this is not a quick and easy read; it requires your full attention and time, but it's so incredibly rewarding and fulfilling!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)