Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
35
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2017
What an excellent book and I'm only part way through it. Neil Oliver has done an excellent job of bringing together stories of heroism and daring do, a perusal of the contents pages show this. His introduction about the gradual feminisation of modern man, to fit in with the current sensitivity to other peoples feelings and political correctness, is sadly spot on (although personally I think he could do with a visit to the barbers and wear a shemagh rather than a girly scarf). He mentions the fact Britain is now viewed as the laughing stock of the world when we used to rule most of it, again a disgraceful state of affairs. This book shows how it used to be and how it should be again. Well done, Sir.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
One of those rare books that you just can't put down but want to ration in order to make it last. A real treasure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
Husband not a huge reader but cannot put the book down. I am looking forward to reading it when he finishes........Well Done Neil, a triumph....continue the good work!!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2017
Great book we'll written in an engaging and enthusiastic style. Some incredible stories of heroism..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2009
I first heard about this book when I seen the Author on a TV show and he was promoting the book. Believe me he was right about everything he said, this book is brilliant. The stories make the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end!! This is not a book you read and forget, you will want to read it again and again. What heroes they were, go for it, you won't be dissapointedAmazing Tales for Making Men Out of Boys
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2009
Really loved reading this to myself and my Grandson at bedtime. Full of stirring tales of how men used to behave when their back was to the wall. As a boy I used to read the Boys Own Paper,& Victor, Hotspur Comics. What memories it evoked.

I thoroughly reccommend it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This collection of tales of derring-do is easy to read, and each episode is told with Oliver's trademark enthusiasm and his obvious admiration for the heros involved. Despite the male-ness of the title it's equally rewarding for females to read -- it's just that the subjects of these adventures are mainly men.
The cover depicts the epic journey which Scott made to conquer the Antarctic, and that story provides the backbone which runs through the book. Scott's life story is told in segments, leading up to his fateful, final expedition. It's interspliced with other stand-alone epiosdes of heroic endeavour, many of which serve to illustrate one aspect of Scott's accomplishment.
So we also read about the 300 Spartans at Thermopyle, the pilots of the Battle of Britain, the lifeboatmen of Penlee, Ernest Shackleton, the French Foreign Legion, the Light Brigade and another half-dozen examples of heroic conduct plucked from the pages of history. All of it is delivered at something of a dash, creating easily-digested individual stories which are heavy on action and spiced with a little modern interpretation.
None of this is ground-breaking but it is a corking good read. At times the device of splitting up Scott's story doesn't work so well -- in fact, it makes the most important tale in the book feel somewhat disjointed, and reduced the eventual impact of the episode. That's the worst complaint, though.
Neil Oliver doesn't pretend to have any of the qualifications of the heros he describes, but he obviously admires the Britons who were prepared to sacrifice all for their countrymen and colleagues. I also liked the fact that he returns to the theme of 'Britishness' in his comments.
Recommended for all ages and both genders; very useful as a way to introduce younger folks to a bit of history. Perfect for long air flights, too!
9/10
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2009
Great book for any man / boy. You can feel the passion in Neil Olivers writing. I love the way he sets the scene in each chapter regarding the era and the mindset of the hero(s).
Very educational for young readers. Each story is like a history lesson but more fun then school!
Of course it is a romantic view that he depicts, slighty distorted and glossy but for me that is what makes the book great. There must be many more tales of British history to be explored so I hope he will do another along the same lines.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2008
I found this book hugely entertaining, informative and written in a style that took me back to those heady days reading the Topper and Victor. Great stuff Neil.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2008
This is well presented with a bold cover, just like those magazines you might remember from when you were a kid. It's really all about the heroes boys used to aspire to be - in the days when it was better to die a brave death than to live as a coward. It's a worthy collection of classic battles and genuine heroes, but the intersections of Scott (of the Antarctic) are a bit tiresome and the defined audience is not really very clear. If it's for kids then it's really too big and long. If it's for adults then some of the language used is a bit archaic, or childish even. It is a good book and worth a look, but could have just done with a bit of final thought at the editing stage that could have made it great.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)