Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
89
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 26 November 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Having enjoyed brief histories, and light-hearted reviews of major events, in books such as 'Atrocitology', I found this particular tome very heavy going. If a very detailed and serious explanation is what you are after, this book is for you. I, however, was hoping for a quick snapshot, a surge of knowledge, the way to impress my children and their teachers....sadly I had to give in.
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2016
I wish I had bought the hard back which is a larger format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 November 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
now this is how your supposed to write about history!

I read mostly military history, and you get exasperated by people who write about military history as if it exsists in a vaccum. It doesnt. It involes culture, politics, finance, personalities etc etc. just in case your lost at this point this is not about military history, more geographic history

This book is not just about maps, its almost teh secret life of maps. All the subtle details that go into how maps are drawn up, agreed upon socially as correct and how alot can be read into how they finaly look based on nationality of draughstman, sponsor, etc

the map most of us see on a regular basis is not the real represntation of our world and its amazing how many people dont realise that. I use one daily in work and this book has helped no end in explaining deatils concerning maps to people, also it has helped make it interesting for me and them. A great book, that will alter your perception of teh real world you and your forefathers have lived in.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
A finely written account of the history of mankind, using the development of mapping as a way of understanding how we came to grasp the extent of the lands and peoples to be found on Planet Earth.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The author clearly loves maps, not just from a geographical point of view but as what they have to say about the societies that created them. This is fine, but I found the text could get a little 'romantic' about about the subject matter, which I found a little off putting as the focus drifted away from the maps themselves. And as for the maps themselves, well it's a shame the book hasn't made more of an effort in reproducing them. The book's page size is only a bit bigger than A5 and pictures lack clarity. Overall, a bit of a disappointment - a book about maps (even if it's taking a wider view) should visually do the maps themselves justice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
Viewers of the TV series will not be disappointed by this original and scholarly book. Lovers of the past need to take account of geography
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
Very well received as a gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
A fascinating way to present man's view of our world through selected historical maps. It brings to life the knowledge, attitudes and beliefs of the different periods as well as explaining how the maps came to be as they were. A thoughtfully written and stimulating book.

I chose the hardback version expecting that the detail on the maps would be more readily visible but was mistaken on this count.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
Bought as a gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
AN excellent read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)