Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
790
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2017
Understanding why things happen, how decisions and judgements are reached, is fundamental if we wish to avoid repeating mistakes. Our thinking is flawed, just being aware of how, and how often, is a start.
This should be compulsory reading, particularly for those who hold strong opinions with certainty...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
It is like a text book! I have to keep dipping back into it. Magazine articles and other books frequently make reference to it. That is praise enough.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
Insightful research backed theories. If you are into decision making, this is the book for you. The only reason i gave the book a 4 is that it is a tough read. Even though i would give the value of the content a 5, it struggles to keep your attention for the length of the book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 July 2017
I took the opportunity in June to re-read Daniel Kahneman’s work Thinking Fast and Slow. Kahneman uses storytelling from key points in his career to take the audience on a journey through biases and better decision-making. From a book that is obviously aimed at a consumer audience it has an outsized impact on marketers.

Presentations now talk about behavioural economics. What this meant in practice was revisiting the interface of psychological cues and marketing communications to encourage a desired behavioural change – like a purchase. It brought a renewed focus on A/B testing of call to action copy and images based around known consumer biases.

This isn’t necessarily a marketing handbook however, it is designed to make the average person more aware of their decision making process. It reminded me of Dan Ariel’s Predictably Irrational.

The key difference is that Kahneman’s work provides more of a learning structure in the book. Ariel is closer to the ‘ain’t it cool’ style of Malcolm Gladwell (though more rigorously researched).

I’d recommend that marketers start on Thinking Fast and Slow at the back. There is summary of the book and then some supporting white papers. Once you have them read then go to the front and work your way through. The reason why I suggest this approach is that marketers use case is different to that of the man in the street (who buys his books from the non-fiction section of the New York Times bestseller list).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Excellent book summarising the foundation of behavioural economics. Discusses the key elements in detail and summarises very effectively in the conclusion. Important knowledge for all, as we all make decisions and judgements, and particularly for those whose decisions carry a heavy weight.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2017
Long winded, written in a pedantic almost academic style (but not as impenetrable as original scientifci journal articles) and in tiny, eye wateringly hard to read font.

BUT

The content is mind blowing.

It is salutory to realise just *how* much our brains are (necessarily) 'shortcutting' our perception of reality.
Sure, its for often good reason of making sense of our world quickly and effortlessly. But the errors which that induces is little short of terrifying.

You think you are the savvy, enlightened, objective assessor of what you see and hear, immune to extraneous influences.
Ha! You *really* wanna bet on that?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
A slog to read but we'll worth it. I like to think it's made me a better decision maker?!?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
What can I add to a best-seller like this? It's technical, but accessible. You're reading about world-class psychology research, but he makes it very understandable. I found it insightful into how I and others think.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2016
great book ,life makes more sense after reading it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
An interesting book but not easy reading..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)