Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2013
Thought provoking and original, no agenda in the book they just ask questions in a new way and offer new questions too consider, I really enjoyed it, I would say most the negative reviews appear to be from people who don't like the authors conclusions as they challenge their own opinions and don't seem to be able to recognize that other people have a right to a different opinion or conclusions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
Not as good as the first one, perhaps as the formula is now predictable, but still some interesting and fun analysis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
great book, very fast delivery, condition as described.
will highly recommend both the seller and the book itself - definitely worth a read. explains a lot from the crazy and illogical things that we see or do every day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
excellent product,very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
If you liked the first book, you'll love this. Its more of the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2011
Glad I went for the illustrated version of this book. It adds so much more to the enjoyment of it. Thoroughly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The first book was a worldwide success... and this builds on that success. Strange and bizarre views and facts on things that you'd never previously thought of, it made me see a lot of things in many new ways. The authors question everything from why more women don't become prostitutes (as it can pay very well at the high end) to why child car-seats are so ineffective (apparently), and if you can ignore the fact that it's quite obviously written from an American point of view, it's informative, amusing, and makes you ask, many times, 'why on earth does.....?' If more people questioned things in the same way that Levitt and Dunber, the authors, do, then the world might just be a better place.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 March 2013
Freakonomics took an alternative economists view (more actually a statistical view) of issues and their causes such as crime rates and gaming the results in education and sports. This book continues where the first left off, except it continues with more of the same and is less convincing, which is odd given all the cover endorsements by people from the FT etc. saying how much better it is than freakonomics.

The problem is it has lost its edge it is not original and much of the material is covered by others in a better and more thorough way. The mistakes are also more grating and annoying such as the danger of drunk walking. The statistic to look at is not the number of miles per death but the number of walks per death compared to car journeys per death. Most people don't walk very far. Then there is the nonsense about women being killed for witchcraft and the endless hubris of economists when they don't want to be called statisticians. The difference between an economist doing statistics and a statistician doing statistics is the order they work in. A statistician makes a model - a hypothesis and then collects the data. An economist collects the data or finds something interesting and then makes a hypothesis. This is post-hoc analysis and very dangerous, because you are basically story telling. That is what makes this book so infuriating, it is just stories from the author's perspectives and these are prone to bias and subjectivity.

So read Freakonomics if you want some of the wow I hadn't thought of that but give this one a miss.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2010
I have not read the original book but expected more from this one than I got. Most of the tag lines on the cover are not really well thought through or discussed. For example, it turns out that the reason for suicide bombers to buy life insurance is simply to confuse the authorities slightly about their intentions. That's it, but it is given huge prominence on the cover.

The majority of the book is simply the authors acting very humbly and talking about all of the amazing people they have met during the writing of the book. Very quickly it becomes boring and repetitive. "Wow, we met this really smart guy who is doing really amazing research and he is so clever because he has found out some stuff which will make an interesting and quirky lines for the cover of our book so we can sell loads of copies off the back of the first".

The actual interesting stuff could have been condensed into 1 chapter. This would have avoided the boring and shameless name dropping and sycophantic drivel which makes up the majority of the book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2010
Love it and very enjoyable read. This is the same style as the Freakonomics and I just love these types of books. The Armchair Economist is the best one out there though.

Some of the topics as other reviewers have said needs to be taken with a big grain of salt and again the style of writing is not the best. It uses some logically fallacies to try to influence you to his way of thinking instead of being a balance book.

Take it as a light entertaining read instead of totally factual and you can't go wrong with it. Read it one in go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)