Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 14 October 2012
Wonderful wisdom and spiritual insight into what it feels like to connect to the natural world. I feel as if Im on the journey with him. Wonderfully written. So many beautiful words all written in a poetic flow of movement colour and sensitive human perception. Shall be giving this as a gift for xmas and recommending it to our book club and I will be reading his other books.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2017
Good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2017
Gave up on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2016
Beautiful lilting prose, packed with lore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2016
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2016
Satisfied
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 September 2013
... as with campsites, there are so many roads still left to be taken, and so little time. Richard Macfarland has written a rich, evocative paean to the pleasures of travel at the optimum speed for savoring the world around us; the sub-title proclaims the method - on foot (though a slow boat does also make its appearances). For me, the book "worked" on many different levels. There is the plain "goad" to get out on the trail, and there are so many that he describes. There was the sheer enjoyment of experiencing Macfarland's remarkable erudition. To read can be to learn, and in this book there was so much that is new, exciting and unknown to me... another "goad," an intellectual one. And even for a native English speaker... or more properly, as my British "cousins" would remind me, American speaker, an Oxford Dictionary is an appropriate accompaniment so that the reader can look up the meaning of so many of the technical terms of geology, botany, nautical, et al., that Macfarland uses with confidence. History, literature and philosophy are also woven into the author's musing while walking. He quotes from Jean-Jacques Rousseau's Confessions (Oxford World's Classics): "I can only meditate when I am walking, when I stop I cease to think; my mind only works with my legs." And then there are those essential but unlikely connections humans make among themselves, and are the wiser for it.

Macfarland groups his walks into four major sections, located in England, Scotland, "Abroad" and finishing with England again. He commences with a walk in the snow, near the time of the winter solstice, from his home in Cambridge. The reader is soon introduced to Edward Thomas, who wrote The Icknield Way in 1913. Macfarland takes part of the Icknield, which extends from Norfolk to Wiltshire, on the south coast. It is an area of chalk, and the path is one of England's oldest roads. He then takes what is billed as "deadliest" path in Britain: the Broomway, which crosses a tidal estuary in East Anglia. The author says that the trail is a "halfway house" between the land and the sea, a fitting introduction to his boat trips in Scotland, mainly near the Outer Hebrides. There are "paths" in the ocean that have been used for millennium, and he encourages the reader to conceptualize looking at a "negative" of the normal map of Europe; it is the edge(s) from northern Scotland all the way to Spain that had more in common with each other than they did with the inhabitants only 30 km inland. The Atlantic "country." He "illuminated" for me the rituals and traditions involved with the hunting of gannets on a "speck" of an island to the north of the Hebrides, Sula Sgeir.

Macfarland's three "abroad" trips are varied, and impressive. Concerning the unlikely connections in life, he knows Raja Shehadeh, author of Palestinian Walks: Forays Into a Vanishing Landscape, a book I read (and reviewed) four years ago. Macfarland visits Shehadeh, who is an excellent guide to walking those ancient hills, and the trials and tribulations that hikers in many countries do not experience. The second hike is in Spain, a portion of the pilgrim route to Santiago de Compostela, coming from Madrid over the Guadarrama mountains into Segovia. And the third hike is in Western Tibet, near the mountain sacred to the Buddhists, the triangular Minya Konka.

Back in England, Macfarland discusses the life of the painter Ravilious, as well as his walking habits. Then he returns for a deeper look at Edward Thomas: "Thomas sensed early that one of modernity's most distinctive tensions would be between mobility and displacement on the one hand, and dwelling and belonging on the other- with the former becoming ubiquitous and the latter becoming lost (if ever it had been possible) and reconfigured as nostalgia... It is hard to make anything like a truce between these two incompatible desires." I was fascinated by the author's descriptions of a friendship between Thomas and Robert Frost, with the latter visiting him on occasions. Frost sent him a draft of "The Road Not Taken" which may have been inspired by Thomas' actions. At the age of 36, with a family, Thomas enlisted, and was killed in the Battle of Arras in the spring of 1917. I couldn't help think of the line from the movie Doctor Zhivago [1965] [DVD], uttered at the commencement of World War I, by his half-brother, Yevgraf: "Happy men don't enlist."

Macfarlane peppers his work with numerous bon-mots. Consider, as a symbol of hospitality and friendship: "A self-replenishing tumbler of gin." There is also a wonderful bibliography worth exploring. Neither Frost nor Macfarland raised the issue that, if the mortar round doesn't get you, you might live long enough to double back, and take the road that you missed the first time around. For Macfarlane's wonderful account and inspiration, 6-stars.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2013
Robert Macfarlane writes inspirationally as a philosopher poet and the quality of his prose is high enough to sustain his vision. He takes you with him on a journey both visual and spiritual sustained by his energetic perception.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2012
I read a chapter from this book in Granta and decided to invest in the hardback - extraordinarily evocative prose, a wonderful read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Lost Words
£10.00
The Wild Places
£7.99
Landmarks
£6.79

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)