Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
125
4.0 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2011
Bought this for my wife. She has said that it is very engaging as it gives an insight into an otherwisw unfathomable world.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2007
Is there any non-Muslim who hasn't wondered about the foundations of a faith that seemingly endorses murder and suicide as a laudable aim? Then this remarkable book will come as relief. The problem is that the Koran is being filtered and distorted by people with an agenda who assume their followers will never read the original sources. Ed Husain does a remarkable job in reclaiming Islam from the fanatics who have blackened the name of the Prophet. Reclaimed Islam from bigots like their Protestant and Catholic counterparts in Ulster who have only the most tangential relationship with the faith they `protect' and use it to justify sectarianism.

As a result of reading this book I took Husain's advice and have read the Koran which conveys a message far divorced from the jihad fantasists. This book is already having an impact on thinking in the UK and anyone wanting to understand why we are where we are and how we can move on will be heartened by its appearance.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
Informative and frightening
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
A must read for everyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2007
There are some slight difficulties reading this book due to the Arabic terms used and the references to Islamic scholars, but it is well worth reading. Husain is able to outline the techniques used by certain groups to recruit and develop new members. He is also able to clearly explain the differences between different types of Muslims. Ed Hussain manages to do all of this in an interesting and insightful way. I'm lucky; I know quite a few Muslims. This book helps me to understand them and what is happening in our society. What an excellent book!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2007
I hope that every MP reads this book. It contains vitally important information about the methods used to subvert the institutions of the UK by some very unpleasant and deluded people. It also shows how these people have misled the government into believing that they and their organisations represent the views of the majority of Muslims in the UK.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2007
one of the more shocking revelations of this startling book is the role played by the british media in shaping the opinions of non-muslims in the uk. page after page exposes the problematic relationship between media representations of islam and the facts out there on the street. ed husain's remarkable journey, his quest for truth and knowledge, presents a picture of islam which, for me at least, is profoundly moving. the protestations of moderate muslims always rang a little hollow when set against the implacable hatred, both their words and their violence, leveled by islamists at the usa, the uk and the west in general. here one finds a version of islam which needs to be shouted from every rooftop, debated on tv and spread across our newspapers. 'the islamist' is a timely corrective to the sometimes hysterical portrayal of islam in this country. once the descent into islamism is arrested, the book delicately reveals an aspect of the religion that really is committed to order, self-knowledge and peaceful co-existence, however imperfectly that goal is realised. even as an aetheist i could not help but be impressed with this young man's search for his faith, and the dedication he displayed throughout in his efforts to find it. most importantly, through the exploration of his own inner turmoil, he opens a window onto the lives of the millions of muslims in this country who deserve to be heard, but are denied their voice by a small, highly vocal and well organised minority. read it for that reason if no other.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2007
A fantastic book! This book is a must-read for everyone, particularly westerners like myself who find this situation difficult to understand.

Ed Hussain is a wonderful person for writing this book and for being so brave. I hope it inspires and educates everyone!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
This book is important to read because it gives us "a view of Islam" - and helps us to understand other religions and to perhaps become more tolerant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
It has taken me more than a month, to get trough the first half of the book, and find it boring and not very interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)