Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
48
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 December 2015
How I wish that this book was not illuminating, accurate, realistic in its appraisal of Europe's sleepwalking on immigration of mainly Muslim countries and its very damaging effect on the Christian cultures in which they arrive. I wish, too, that the recent events in Paris, San Bernadino, Tunisia etc were not the obvious results of ignoring the depressing "enemy within". But this really is a MUST read. I particularly would never in a million years have thought this was a very serious "threat" a year ago. The book was published in 2009, I believe, yet all it says is extraordinarily correct in the way the EU has been "pretending" the second and third generations are not being woken up to the desire to hate the West and kill the West and not assimilate because their communities and families kept the Old World alive. As Mr Caldwell says, the common thread for young Muslims throughout Europe is their "religion" even though it is a violent reading of the Koran. That is, unfortunately, the fact. To ignore the main aspect of the terrorism today: the Koran and its various strains of extremist clerical teachings is stupid. Just wake up and smell the coffee.

Do we want to speak loudly about what democracy, tolerance and freedom means to us and them? Of course, but do we question them enough in the media about what the Muslim faith does consider fundamental in its beliefs: homosexuality, attitudes towards Jews, women's equality? I watch many UK programmes that fail over and over again to ask direct questions of representatives of the Muslim faith just what is acceptable and tolerable within their homes and our world. Sadly, this book has a point: the Muslims must decide if living in the West is important enough to push their own population towards our way of life and not the other way around. Depressingly, I feel the West does not want to confront this and therefore it is only a matter of time before we will be changing our ways - their increase in population versus the indigent ones will make it thus. More must be done to confront these communities. Most are happy to respect the West but many don't (see the various polls after atrocities happen where a large minority of sympathies lie). Anyway, very, very thoughtful analysis. I do not LOVE this book as the five stars indicate above - I simply know it should be essential reading for all European politicians and city leaders of all faith communities.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2016
An outstanding, objective analysis. Reading this, in my opinion we've had it. As Martin Amis said of white, middle-class liberals, we 'are up the arse of those that want [us] dead.' Caldwell states that 'Europe's conscience' about the Holocaust in particular, has kept its 'intolerant impulses in check for half a century. It [has] done the job far too well. It [has] cleared not just a breathing space for immigrants, but a space of impunity for the worst among them.' As I write this, there have been two terrorist attacks on Brussels following the arrest a few days ago of one of the main perpetrators of the Paris attacks. Reports state that 'at least 26 people have been killed in two separate attacks.' When multiculturalism was fashionable, people like David Blunkett, then Home Secretary, urged us to 'celebrate' the diversity it brought with it. Well, we're celebratin' now, big time.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
A detailed review of what has happened in Europe as a direct result of Muslim immigration. All our politicians should be required to read it and outline their plans for how they will preserve our way of life otherwise the future is looking very bleak indeed,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 December 2013
Essential reading for anyone who cares about the future of Britain & Europe.

I don't agree with everything the author writes - I think he's extremely generous to Enoch Powell, for example - but he has produced a work that simply can't be ignored. His analysis of the failure of multiculturalism in general, and in dealing with a large Muslim minority in particular, is excellent.

There are an awful lot of hard facts in this book that make liberals of all shades uneasy - in particular, the substantial evidence that the second an third generations of Muslim immigrants are de-integrating. Not just what Muslims are saying to opinion pollsters. either: the tiny numbers of Muslims marrying outside the faith or serving in the British Armed Forces - compare the black community for a contrast - add weight to the author's claim that Muslims just aren't interested in joining mainstream British society.

Far, far superior to the self-obsessed, scattershot writings of Bruce Bawer.

I'd also recommend "Murder in Amsterdam" by Ian Buruma and "Immigrant Nations" by Paul Scheffer, both of which shed much light on the failure of multiculturalism in continental Europe.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2009
If you are interested in the current and future impact of mass immigration of Islam into Europe, then this is the book for you. The author, Christopher Caldwell, has used his extensive knowledge to provide a trenchant analysis of how Islamic religion and culture is re-shaping Europe. He questions whether Islam can possibly sit in harmony alongside the liberal and secular traditions of the West and what this means for indiginous Europeans. He argues that European policy makers have unquestionably bowed to the demands of Muslims in policy making but under-estmated the culture-shaping potential of the Islamic religion, thereby trapping Europe in a dilemma to which it has no solution. Caldwell supports his arguments with evidence and examples drawn from recent history in this easily accessible read. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
Interesting and very well written and researched. Perhaps its biggest strength is that it is written in a way that most could understand, meaning it is not just for political students or those with a deep interest in the matter, but all, as it is all of us who are effected by the subject.

It is shocking, no doubt there, the situation seems far worse than I originally thought, but it was refreshing to see a a structured academic approach against mass immigration rather than the usual racist thugs who push such views with little to no evidence to back up, undermining their entire argument.

A read for all, especially politicians !
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
This reviewer has spent the last 30 years living in one of the prime destination countries of Arab Moslem immigration (Spain) and also one of their prime destination areas within that country (the Levante), so it's interesting to compare what's happening here with the account in Caldwell's book.

He mostly seems to get it right.

There are obviously many more North Africans living in the area than 30 years ago and they really do form a parallel society. They don't have problems with the local population (in this area half Spanish and half northern European residents) but equally they have very little social contact outside their group. The motive for the immigration seems to be mostly economic, to escape arbitrary and corrupt North African governments plus to take advantage of generous Spanish social services and free education. The idea seems to be to build a better Morocco in Spain with Spain being seen as a sort of Paradise on Earth (confirmed by Laila Lalami's interesting book "Hope and Other Dangerous Pursuits" - giving the rare Moroccan immigrant viewpoint).

Religion is getting stronger, not weaker. More head scarves, more beards and the non-integration is very noticeable with Arab women not working (i.e. not becoming more European) and having many more children than the local Spanish and also being very cognisant of their rights to healthcare, social services and schooling. Basically they seem to be a very happy group of people, with little money and no political pretensions (a low economic profile and non-existent political interest) who aren't planning to integrate and become Spaniards but who intend to live here permanently.

So, at a basic level Caldwell's question, "Can Europe be the same with different people in it?" is valid, and the answer seems to be a qualified "No" as Moslem immigrants aren't planning to integrate, intermarry and become first loyalty Spanish/ French/ Swedish etc. The qualification may be that small percentages of non-integrating immigrants don't seem to make much difference and they aren't (at present) seeking political power.

An obvious problem with the book is chapter after chapter talking about the low educational level of Moslems, their criminality, their lack of assimilation, being stuck at the lowest level with the worst housing etc. with the sudden absurd claim that they are about to take over Europe. How is this going to happen when they have virtually no economic or political power?

Caldwell could have got some perspective by looking at other non-European, non-Christian ethnic groups in the West that act tribally, use racial patronage and don't plan to assimilate, with the best example surely being U.S. Jewry, but don't wait for him to write about this particular ethnic group (who are actually more relevant since they have both economic and political power).
44 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Only a writer on the side of truth can open his book with a positive shout out to Jean Raspail's hilarious French novel, The Camp of Saints (1974). The Camp of Saints is actually a masterpiece and a master class in how to demolish the cult of politically correct windbaggery and today's fetishist white intellectual arguments that the West's slow retreating roar, up its own cowardly backside, is actually a good thing.

But the trouble with the Camp is its hilarious racialism and this is why I reckon that today we suffer from a boy who cried wolf syndrome; because today's critics of Islam, and especially Pakistan, are obviously not racialist, but they were definitely and very openly racialist about 30 years ago.

What I'm saying, if anything, is that critics of Islam are obviously not horrid racist types because 1; Islam is not a race or an ethnicity, but rather, Islam is an ideology that has forced the bowels of history to excrete idiocy in all directions, like an angry toilet, to become the basis of a fierce personality cult, and 2; Hindus and Sikhs and basically most brown people who are not Muslim, write the best critiques of the life denying nihilism that troubles the cowardly (or bribed maybe?) West.

Today then, we have intelligent reasonable arguments on our side, but the previous generation of Camp of Saints readers were blatant racists and this hinders people like Christopher Caldwell and the rest of the defenders of intelligence. It's basically the boy who cried wolf because the 1960's and 70's critics of Pakistani immigration (Pakistan, according to V S Naipaul, is `Allah on Earth') were obviously not bothered about Islam, they really weren't. I remember the nastiness in school and it was really nasty man! Anyway enough of my free form haranguing, Christopher Caldwell can write proper English. All the British media, including pro Islam Guardian of London, raved about this book and gave it full marks because it's that good
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2016
Readable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)